A portal for digital collections from Connecticut libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies.
Digital Commons is Connecticut College’s electronic archive, housing published and unpublished work by faculty and students as well as publications of College departments and offices. Digital Commons provides electronic preservation and persistent access worldwide to the scholarly and creative works of the College community. See also Lear Center Collections.
An American digital library with the stated mission of "universal access to all knowledge." It provides free public access to collections of digitized materials, including websites, software applications/games, music, movies/videos, moving images, and millions of public-domain books
Public Records of the Colony of Connecticut, 1636-1776. A digital collection created by staff at the University of Connecticut Libraries and supported generously by the Mashantucket Pequot Museum & Research Center and the Connecticut State Library. The site relies on Internet Archive’s American Libraries editions of these records.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a portal to the (digital) riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
New London’s Black Heritage Trail celebrates three centuries of Black strength, resilience, and accomplishment. Some of the trail’s fifteen sites explore nationally known people or incidents. Others honor people who have been nearly forgotten. Nearly all describe the determination with which New London’s Black community overcame obstacles through personal courage and by founding institutions to meet its social, political, economic and spiritual needs. Together, the sites tell a story about Black life in New London while tying into larger stories about enslavement, the Great Migration and the struggle for civil rights.
A portal for digital collections from the State Library, the Museum of Connecticut History, and the Connecticut State Archives.
A large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via the Google Books project and Internet Archive digitization initiatives
The New York Public Library Digital Collections contain 746,427 items and counting. While that is a small fraction of the Library's overall holdings, it is representative of the diversity of our vast collections—from books to videos, maps to manuscripts, illustrations to photos, and more. See also NYPL.
A History of New London, Connecticut: From the First Survey of the Coast in 1612 to 1860 (1895) by Frances Manwaring Caulkins.
Black Roots in Southeastern Connecticut, 1650 - 1900 (1980) by Barbara W. Brown and James M. Rose.
General Plan of a Park and Playground System for New London (1913) by John Nolen.
New London: A History of its People: In Celebration of New London's 350th Anniversary (1996).
New London, Niantic and Waterford Directory (1900-1914) by Price & Lee.
The New London Plan: A report to the Planning Board, New London, Connecticut (1929) by Herbert S. Swan.
Records and Papers of the New London County Historical Society (1890-1912).
Tapestry: A Living History of the Black Family in Southeastern Connecticut (1979).
Views of New London (1908).
Winthrop Family Papers, Massachusetts Historical Society (1498-).