New London: Historical Research Guide: Library Databases

Search through 150+ Connecticut newspapers, as well as over 11,000 local, regional, national and international sources (6,800+ US and almost 4,200 international sources). Mostly current with some coverage extending back to the 1990s or earlier.

Rich, comprehensive material found in leading historic periodicals and books, including eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records. Collections include African American Newspapers, Godey's Ladys Book and the Liberator. Contains thousands of references to New London.

Search across thousands of early American newspapers, or browse them by date, title, or place of publication. Includes 87 titles from Connecticut.

Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.

Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.

Coverage includes 1887-1922 and 1992-. For access from 1764-1922 see ProQuest Newspapers - Historical Newspapers listed below. Or, use CT State Library databases (with CT State Library card) for complete coverage.

Includes a number of transcripts of US Presidents' speeches at the US Coast Guard Academy.

Full texts of journals from many different disciplines including Anthropology, Economics, Education, History, Population Studies, and Sociology. Includes a lot of interesting material on the history of New London and its environs.

Search the entire archive of the New York Times to discover more than 150 years of coverage of New London and the region.

A digital archive of 7 of the leading newspapers in North America. Titles include the Christian Science Monitor, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Time, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.

Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. 1980s to current.

Local, regional and national news coverage; 1985 to current.

Since 1817, the US Congressional Serial Set is a collection of House and Senate Reports and Documents dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. The collection includes nearly 75,000 maps dealing with a wide variety of issues and locations. Search by keyword, or browse by map location, map subject, personal names, issuing agency, etc. Several dozen maps represent New London alone from the mid-1800s up to the recent past!