Library Collections Information: Suggest a Purchase/Contact Us

Requesting a Purchase or Subscription

The library is happy to receive suggestions and requests for adding materials to the collection. The process for requesting materials varies according to the type and nature of the resource; see below. In all cases, faculty are welcome to discuss needed library materials and services with their library liaison. For more information about research services for faculty, please visit this page.

For one-time purchases, most commonly books, you can use the form that’s available through the library catalog. Click here (login required), or at the top of the screen on a catalog search page, find the link that says “Suggest a Purchase.”

To request or recommend that the library subscribe to an ongoing resource requiring an annual subscription, such as a database, please fill out this form (login required). Please note that this form should only be used by faculty or librarians. Due to the annually increasing financial commitment required to maintain a subscription, the library evaluates these requests very carefully and may recommend an alternative resource. Requests will be received on a rolling basis and evaluated three times a year.

Contacting Us
The Library Collections, Access & Discovery department can be contacted as follows:

• Fred Folmer is head of the department, overseeing collection development, access services (circulation), processing/catalog and library systems. 
• Trish Lombardi is the assistant director for collections, with direct oversight of serials and e-resources along with general responsibility for library collections and resource sharing. You can contact Trish with questions about trials and e-resources access issues.
  • For one-time purchase requests, email our Acquisitions email account; Lorraine McKinney, our acquisitions supervisor, monitors this account.
  • Jana Pietrzyk is the interlibrary loan specialist and can be contacted with questions related to resource sharing. To submit an interlibrary loan request, click here.
• Joe Frawley is the systems and technical services librarian. He is responsible for the functioning of the integrated library system as well as cataloging. 
• Emily Aylward is the overall supervisor for Access Services, which includes circulation, building management and reserves.