Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Collections Information: Usage Information

Usage Overview

On an ongoing basis, the library collects usage statistics on a variety of materials in order to inform decision making. Please see the below boxes for information. If you wish to see additional usage information, please email us and we'll be happy to accommodate your request. In collecting usage statistics, the library utilizes protocols defined by the Counter Project, a nonprofit initiative designed to create standards and accountability in vendors' reporting usage information to libraries.

Following the retirement in 2021 of the longtime music librarian, Greer Music Library is now being centrally managed by the staff based in Shain Library. For a dashboard of current usage statistics for Greer Music Library, please click this link.

For a list of FAQs regarding the collection and budget issues, please see this link (available to anyone at Connecticut College who has the link). 

Usage Information

The graph below illustrates the various costs per full-text download of several large journal packages, which are large bundles of journal subscriptions that the library obtains at a discounted price. To arrive at the figure, we divide the cost we pay in a year by the number of full-text downloads of the content in that package.

The graph below illustrates the various costs per search of some of our databases. To arrive at the figure, we divide the cost we pay in a year by the number of searches of that database. These are the lowest cost-per-search databases; in other words, these represent some of our best values!

Here are the number of searches of some key databases for the academic year 2020-21 (with 2019-20 figures in parentheses):

Arts & Humanities:

  • Art & Architecture Source: 182 (256)
  • ArtSTOR: 18,227 (19,687)
  • Avery Index (architecture): 153 (213)
  • Early English Books Online (EEBO): 1,003 (98)
  • Film & Television Index: 508 (400)
  • L'Année Philologique (classics): 313 (168)
  • LLBA (linguistics): 970 (1,456)
  • Literature Online (LION): 1,237 (2,072)
  • MLA International Bibliography: 968 (1,053) 
  • Performing Arts Database: 1,017 (1,446)
  • Religion Database: 984 (1,431)
  • RILM (music): 119 (280)
  • Vogue Archive: 964 (1,423)

Data/Statistics:

  • Data Planet: 381 (1,490)

General:

  • Academic OneFile: 2,895 (3,870)
  • Academic Search Premier: 3,293 (3,570)
  • JSTOR: 34,868 (48,339)
  • Nexis Uni: 784 (460)
  • Project Muse: 575 (896)

Newspapers:

  • Access World News: 1,235 (1,788)
  • America's Historical Newspapers: 595 (588)
  • U.S. Major Daily Newspapers: 1,696 (1,191)

Science & Mathematics:

  • American Chemical Society Web Editions: 241 (702)
  • Environment Complete: 1,067 (1,030)
  • MathSciNet: 3,727 (3,222)
  • Reaxys: 2,538 (513)
  • SciFinder Scholar: 810 (1,341)
  • Science Direct (full-text downloads): 28,656 (45,734)
  • Scopus: 4,064 (5,678)

Social Sciences:

  • EconLit: 516 (369)
  • GenderWatch: 1,340 (1,429)
  • Hein Online: 2,447 (634)
  • PsychInfo: 20,638 (22,820)
  • Political Science Complete: 416 (778)
  • SocIndex: 3,221 (3,434)
  • Women's Studies International: 297 (710)