Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Additional Helpful Databases (not music-specific)
Academic Search Premier
Large academic multi-disciplinary database which provides full text for more than 4,500 publications. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals.
Full-texts of journals from many different disciplines, including Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology. JSTOR journals are back issues, no title will be more current than 3-5 years back.
Lexis-Nexis - Lexis Uni
Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical,and reference publications.
The Performing Arts in Colonial American Newspapers: 1690-1783
Text database and index. Originally on CD-ROM."This publication fills a major gap in access to 18th-century American sources for research in the performing arts and related humanities fields."
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, providing access to over 300 journal titles from 120 publishers.
Music Indexes and Databases
The library provides access to a number of online resources in music, including scores, audio, periodical indexes, and full text reference ebooks. The list below is selective.
Classical Scores Library
Classical Scores Library will contain 400,000 pages of classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions. The major composers output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works. Content in the database includes in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series. The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century.
Provides biographical information on important figures in todays musical arena, covering artists working in all genres of modern music, including rock, jazz, pop, rap, rhythm and blues, folk, New Age, country, gospel and reggae. Coverage is from 1989 to the present.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
This encyclopedia´s 30,000 entries cover all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. The expanded Fourth Edition includes thousands of new entries on trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and an album rating system.
Grove Music Online
Comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition. This title is also available in print format in the Reference Collection in Greer.
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks, as well as numerous other labels. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos´s extensive database. Naxos Music Library and all of its contents are owned by Naxos Digital Services Ltd.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Covers over one million publications from around the world on traditional music, popular music, classical music, and related subjects. Coverage begins in the early 19th century and extends to the present.
Smithsonian Global Sound
Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists...