Links to OneSearch, the online catalog ; CTW Consortium Searching; WorldCat, a catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide ; and more...
The music library serves the specialized research, information and performance needs of the the entire college community. The library collection includes books (print and e-books) about music and musicians, periodicals, reference sources and indexes (print and electronic), collected works of major composers, study and performance scores of music, sound and video/laser disc recordings of musical performances, and computer-based support for the teaching and research needs of users. Special collections of sound recordings such as the Hilliar Collection (opera) and the Shelley Jazz Collection complement the main holdings of the library. A special collection of 19th and 20th century sheet music of (primarily) popular songs is also available for research use.
Click here to search OneSearch, our online catalog.
The Linda Lear Center for Special Collections and Archives houses several music collections and items as well. These include the Roberta Bitgood Archive and the Lorraine Wyman Collection. Several music manuscripts and facsimiles are available for research, including a facsimile of the Chansonnier cordiforme. For complete information about music holdings in the Linda Lear Center for Special Collections and Archives, click here.
Information and Reference:
The music librarian is available during regular business hours to help users find information, learn how to search on-line, and locate materials. On evenings and weekends trained student assistants can assist visitors with basic searches. Patrons are invited to inform the staff of their questions, requests, or concerns. Students needing help with research projects may schedule an appointment with the music librarian for a Personal Research Session (x2710).
Most library materials can be borrowed by Connecticut College faculty, students, and staff. Non-college patrons with a vaild library card receive the same borrowing privileges as students. Application for a card must be made with the Circulation Department at the Charles E. Shain Library (call 439-2662 for information). Visitors are always welcome to use the library collection in-house, including recordings and other media.
Required reading, listening, and viewing assignments for music courses are kept at the circulation desk in Greer, and materials must be used in the library. The reserve list for each course is posted on-line, and is reached by searching in OneSearch by a faculty member's name, then opening the menu under "Everything" search and choosing "Course reserves." Run the search again and choose your course from the facets on the left.
The music library provides facilities for the playback of sound recordings, videocassettes, DVDs, and laserdiscs. The library also owns one cassette-to-cassette dubber and a reel-to-reel tape player.
The library has several external disc drives available for loan to patrons whose laptops or computers no longer have internal disc drives.
The Greer Music Library provides two public computer workstations for general patron use, including visitors. Both provide access to the on-line catalog and reserve desk list, several reference databases, the internet, and to e-mail. Additional computers requiring a valid user name and password are available for use by CC faculty, students, and staff. However, only Connecticut College faculty, students, and staff may print out materials from the computers. Music composition software (Sibelius) is accessible via the logon workstations. Eligible Connecticut College patrons with laptops may also connect to the College network via wireless access in the library. Headphones for use with computers and library audio equipment may be borrowed from the circulation desk. The Department of Music's piano lab is located in Greer, and students are welcome to use the pianos. Headphones for the pianos are also available at the circulation desk. A boom box, metronomes, and a Korg orchestral tuner may be borrowed for use outside of the library.
The CTW Consortium ; Interlibrary Loan:
Connecticut College is a member of the CTW Library Consortium with Wesleyan University and Trinity College. The three institutions share an on-line catalog and provide reciprocal borrowing privileges for faculty, staff and currently enrolled students. Books, scores, videos, and sound recordings not available in Greer can often be obtained from Trinity or Wesleyan using the on-line REQUEST function. If you need assistance, or would like further information about this service, ask at the circulation desk.
For books, scores and media not available within the CTW system, users can place a request through the Interlibrary Loan service. This service must be used for all periodical article requests. Forms are available on-line, via the Information Services Libraries web page. For further information, call the ILL office (located in Shain) at x2667.
The main reading room offers plenty of natural light and views of Castle Court. Ample study space is available for patrons, with study tables, easy chairs, and ottomans located in the main reading room. Additional listening and study carrels are located in Rooms 123 and 124 within Greer. These offer spacious desktop work areas with individual lights and provide a quiet, private nook for study and research. A group study room (125) may be reserved for individual or group study, meetings, and classes (8-12 people max.).
The library provides a multi-functional printer. This machine serves as a photocopier, scanner, and printer. Library patrons must have a valid Connecticut College ID to swipe. A separate coin-operated photocopier is also available; copies are 5 cents a page. Please be mindful of copyright restrictions when photocopying library materials.
The copying of library recordings or DVDs onto personal laptops is not allowed in the library.
Copyright: For further information on music-related copyright interpretations, consult the Music Library Association copyright guide by clicking here.
Greer circulation desk: (860) 439-2711
Shain circulation desk: (860) 439-3005
Shain reference desk: (860) 439-2655
Reference Librarians in Shain Library: firstname.lastname@example.org
Andrew Lopez, Library Liaison for Music (Research support and instruction): email@example.com | (860) 439-2656
Joe Frawley, Collection Development: firstname.lastname@example.org