Use discipline-specific library databases to search through core and leading publications that help define the field. Databases often provide citations to journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, essays, and other documents. Some databases provide citations only; others provide full-text. If full-text is not available, click "check for full-text". If we don't have access to a publication you're looking for, try an inter-library loan request. Need a hand? Ask a librarian.
ABI/INFORM (L)
The collection features full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country- and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal.
Content Type: Scholarly Journals, Working Papers, Newspapers, Blogs, Podcasts, and Websites, Books, Conference Papers and Proceedings, Dissertations and Theses, Magazines, Newspapers, Reports, Standards and Practice Guidelines, Tables, Trade Journals, Wire Feeds, Audio and Video.
The world´s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,500 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Alpha Vantage - US & International Stock API(P)
Free, programmatic access to US, Canada, UK, and other international economic and financial statistics (GDP, CPI, unemployment rates, equity prices, mutual funds, company filings, etc.). Access the database through web API, Microsoft Excel and/or Google Sheets (see data integration guide).
The Atlas of Economic Complexity (P)
A data visualization tool from Harvard University that allows one to explore global trade flows across markets, track these dynamics over time and discover growth opportunities for every country.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) (P)
US economic statistics including national income and product accounts (NIPAs), gross domestic product (GDP), and related measures of national, regional, industry and international accounts.
CQ Researcher (L)
Provides in depth, professionally fact-checked, non-partisan reports and analysis on current issues. This is a great place to obtain an overview of a topic including historical background, current situation, projected outlook, graphics, pro/con analysis, and resources for further research. For reports from March 2021 forward, there are also discussion questions that may be used as prompts for expanding dialogue on the topic.
Data Planet (L)
Choose from an extensive repository of statistical data sources containing more than 90 billion data points from more than 70 source organizations.
Data.Census.Gov (P)
The new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. The Census Bureau stopped releasing new data in American FactFinder (AFF) at the end of June 2019 and transitioned to data.census.gov for data releases formerly on AFF.
Data.Gov (P)
Home to the US government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, and design data visualizations. Newly-generated government data is required to be made available in open, machine-readable formats, while continuing to ensure privacy and security. Managed and hosted by the U.S. General Services Administration. Powered by two open source applications, CKAN and WordPress, and it is developed publicly on GitHub.
Doing Business (World Bank) (P)
Annual studies measuring the regulations that enhance business activity and those that constrain it, Doing Business presents quantitative indicators on business regulations and the protection of property rights that can be compared across 190 economies—from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe—and over time with data going back to 2003.
EconLit (L)
Indexes and abstracts more than 550 international economic journals. Source material includes journal articles, essays, research papers, books, dissertations,book reviews, and working papers. Years of coverage are 1969-present.
EconPapers (P)
Described by itself as the world's largest collection of on-line Economics working papers, journal articles and software.
L = Library pays for access
P = Public access (not all data are publicly accessible)
EconStor (P)
A publication server for scholarly economic literature, provided as a non-commercial
public service from the German National Library of Economics (ZBW). The full texts
collected here (mostly working papers, but also journal articles, conference proceedings,
etc.) are all freely accessible according to the principles of Open Access.
FRED (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Economic Data) (P)
A wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. FRED is updated regularly and provides access to excellent time series for regional and national financial and economic data. FRED’s latest Excel add-in is free software that will significantly reduce the amount of time you spend collecting and organizing your economic data. FRED now includes the 2016-2020 data set of the American Community Survey, which includes 11 releases of mainly county-level data on a wide range of important statistics about people and housing for every community in the nation.
Provides independent monitoring of global governmental policies that affect world trade.
This site is an aggregator of data sources. If you type "education" in the search box, it will list sources for education data, such as Education Statistics, Carnegie Commission National Survey of Higher Education, and so on. Not all datasets are publicly accessible.
Google Public Data Explorer (P)
This is a powerful tool to explore, find, and visualize data in one place. It provides access to valuable sources like the World Bank, US Bureau of Labor Statistics, US Census Bureau. Different visualizations can also be selected, such as comparing different states. It will create line, bar, scatter, map, and other visualization formats. A play button at the bottom of the screen produces an animation of how the population changed from the beginning of the timeline to the most current figures.
A web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Set up instructions for Google Scholar to link directly to full-text articles via Conn subscriptions.
Human Development Reports (In print in Shain Library | Available online)
In 1990 the first Human Development Report introduced a new approach for advancing human wellbeing. Human development – or the human development approach - is about expanding the richness of human life, rather than simply the richness of the economy in which human beings live. It is an approach that is focused on people and their opportunities and choices.
Alternate Name(s): Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research - ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
IDEAS (P)
Describes itself as the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 3,300,000 items of research.
IMF Data (P)
Browse and download data by country, indicator, or popular datasets.
IMF eLibrary (P)
The full resources of the IMF eLibrary became available to the public at no charge in 2020. Explore the eLibrary and browse (or download) any of the 21,000 digital publications in the collection. Information about the IMF print collection can be found at https://www.bookstore.imf.org/
JSTOR (L)
Provides full-text articles to hundreds of scholarly journals in the fields of Area Studies, Business, Development Studies, Economics, Finance, International Relations, Labor & Employment, Population Studies, Public Policy & Administration, as well as Transportation Studies, Urban Studies, etc.
Lexis-Nexis / Nexis Uni (L)
Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical,and reference publications.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) (P)
A private, nonpartisan organization that facilitates cutting-edge investigation and analysis of major economic issues. It disseminates research findings to academics, public and private-sector decision-makers, and the public by posting more than 1,200 working papers and convening more than 120 scholarly conferences, each year. A number of their working papers can be found in OneSearch and other databases in this list.
A list of news and newspaper databases.
Observatory of Economic Complexity (P)
Self-described as the world’s leading data visualization platform for international trade data.
Information on relative levels of income, output, input and productivity, covering 182 countries between 1950 and 2014. The Tables can also be accessed through the library's subscription to Data Planet. This Resource Guide provides tips on searching and manipulating data from the Penn World Tables in Data Planet Statistical Datasets and Data Planet Statistical Ready Reference.
Research Papers in Economics (RePEc) (P)
A collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 102 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components.
Science Direct (L)
Though Science Direct is known for its coverage of the natural/hard sciences, it provides access to 100+ academic business and economics journals.
SocINDEX (L)
SocINDEX provides coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, gender studies, ethnic & racial studies, rural & urban sociology, social psychology and many others. It contains 777 full-text journals, and more than 820 full-text books and monographs.
SSRN (P)
A platform for the dissemination of early-stage research. From its initial focus on the social sciences in 1994, SSRN has grown to become the most interdisciplinary service of its kind, representing disciplines across the full research spectrum, including the applied sciences, health sciences, humanities, life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. SSRN is instrumental both as a starting point for students and faculty in the research process, and as a place to communicate their findings at an early stage, prior to publication in academic journals.
Think Tank Search is a custom Google search of more than 500 think tank websites. For the purposes of this search, think tanks are defined as institutions affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity.
UN Comtrade is a repository of official international trade statistics and relevant analytical tables.
UNCTADstat (P) (United Nations Conference on Trade and Development)
Access to more than 150 indicators and statistical time series including foreign direct investment and international trade in goods and services.
US International Trade Administration
Use this portal for US export basics, market research, and trade leads. Includes reports and webcasts.
US International Trade Commission
Provides independent tariff, trade and competitiveness-related analysis and information; and maintains the U.S. tariff schedule.
Select from 15 World Bank databases, including Global Financial Development, Sustainable Development Goals, and World Development Indicators.
WorldCat (L)
Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Use this database to search for books outside the CTW catalog.
World Development Indicators (World Bank) (P)
Select one or more countries and view the large profile of development data, sometimes available from 1960s-present.
World Integrated Trade Solutions (WITS) (P)
Select a country and view its profile and data, usually available from 1990s-present; developed by the World Bank in collaboration with the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD).
Trade disputes, international treaties, and merchandise trade data. See the tabs at the top for "Current News", "Trade Topics" and "Documents, Data and Resources".
Select the countries and view their trade profiles.
L = Library pays for access
P = Public access (not all data are publicly accessible)