Subject & Research Guides: Weather : Resources

Resources

All-Hazard Preparedness Tips (DEMHS) - Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security: "There are variety of weather based hazards that impact Connecticut residents every year. The following resources provide tips to help you and your family stay safe before, during and after a disaster or emergency situation in Connecticut."
Climate.Gov - NOAA Climate.gov is a source of timely and authoritative scientific data and information about climate.
Connecticut Weather Center - The CT Weather Center in Danbury provides facts about past, present and future weather events.
National Weather Service - Weather, water and climate data, forecasts, warnings, and impact-based decision support services for the protection of life and property and enhancement of the national economy.
NOAA Weather - National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration - Main page for weather-related resources at NOAA.
Science.gov - A search engine for information from US government agencies.
Watches, Warnings or Advisories for Connecticut - Active weather alerts for Connecticut from NOAA.
Weather Underground - Weather Underground provides historic weather information back to 1945.

Ted Talks

How Accurate is the Weather Forecast?

Is the Weather Really Becoming More Extreme?

The Science of Extreme Weather

Podcasts

The Weather Channel

Blogs

Watts Up with That?

Weather Resources Available Through the Library

Academic OneFile - A comprehensive, database of more than 8,000 journals covering everything from science to the humanities.
Environment Complete - Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Environmental Issues Online - Brings together multimedia materials (text, archival, primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.
GreenFile - Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
GREENR - Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more.
Scopus - Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Frozen Planet. Complete Series Collection - The Arctic and Antarctic remain the greatest wildernesses on Earth. The scale and beauty of the scenery and the sheer power of the elements, the weather, the rough ocean and the ice, is unmatched anywhere else on our planet. tells the compelling story of animals such as the wandering albatross, the adelie penguin and the polar bear, and paints a portrait that will take your breath away, at a moment when, melting fast, the frozen regions of our planet may soon be changed forever.
The Hurricane of '38 - In September of 1938, the National Weather Bureau predicted this storm would blow itself out in Cape Hatteras, North Carolina. Instead it began an unexpected sprint north along the coast. Over 600 people were killed. Another 100 were never found.

Making Sense of Weather and Climate
Making Sense of Weather and Climate takes readers through key topics in atmospheric physics and presents a cogent view of how weather relates to climate, particularly climate-change science
Minding the Weather
This book presents an integration of recent research that reveals the knowledge and reasoning of expert weather forecasters, explaining how they understand and predict the weather.
Numerical Weather and Climate Prediction
A comprehensive yet accessible treatment of weather and climate prediction, for graduate students, researchers and professionals. It teaches the strengths, weaknesses and best practices for the use of atmospheric models.
Statistical Postprocessing of Ensemble Forecasts
tatistical Postprocessing of Ensemble Forecasts brings together chapters contributed by international subject-matter experts describing the current state of the art in the statistical postprocessing of ensemble forecasts. The book illustrates the use of these methods in several important applications including weather, hydrological and climate forecasts, and renewable energy forecasting.
Sub-Seasonal to Seasonal Prediction
An ideal reference for researchers and practitioners across the range of disciplines involved in the science, modeling, forecasting and application of this new frontier in sub-seasonal to seasonal (S2S) prediction.

Crash Course Geography. Where Does Wind Come From? - There's an invisible force shaping our lives, affecting the weather, climate, land, economy, and just whether a flag looks majestic or not - we're talking about the wind! Today we're going to go into the science of where the wind comes from and take a closer look at the major wind systems and pressure belts across the globe.
Dr. Alessandra Abe Pacini: Extreme Weather from the Sun to the Earth - Alessandra Pacini, solar physicist and mother of two, has dedicated her life to researching our sun and its relation to the rest of our solar system. Traveling across the globe with her family, from Finland to Puerto Rico, Alessandra is on a mission to discover the great mysteries of our solar system.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Science Editor John Rafferty Discusses How Hurricanes are Formed - Britannica Insights: Matt Sinnott interviews John Rafferty about how hurricanes form.
Horizon. The Weirdest Weather in the Universe - We thought we had extreme weather on Earth, but it turns out that it is nothing compared to what's out there. The search for the weirdest weather in the universe is only just beginning.