A database is an electronic retrieval tool and organization system for collections of catalog records, images, documents, or citations. Databases connect you to full-text sources that are often unavailable through search engines, such as Google.
The library provides access to many research databases. These are the core databases in the field of climate change:
Academic OneFile - A comprehensive, database of more than 8,000 journals covering everything from science to the humanities.
Energy Citations Database - Contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy. The Database provides access to DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present.
Environment Complete - Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Environmental Issues Online - Brings together multimedia materials (text, archival, primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.
GreenFile - Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
GREENR - Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more.
JSTOR - Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, academic ebooks, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Science in Context - Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Includes full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Science Reference Center - Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources.
ScienceDirect - Covers resources in chemistry, materials science, engineering and technology, environmental science, pharmacology and toxicology, physics, math and computer science, earth sciences, biochemistry, microbiology and immunology, biological sciences, and clinical medicine. Coverage: 1995 - forward.
Scopus - Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
UCONN Magic (Map and Geographic Information Center) - Provides the public with access to digital maps, atlases, aerial photographs, and geospatial data pertaining to the state of Connecticut, New England and the world.
Water Rights and Resources - A collection of resources designed for understanding state and federal laws governing water.
A journal is a scholarly periodical containing articles written by academics, researchers, and other experts in a given field. Unlike newspapers and magazines, which are intended for general audiences, journals are intended for an academic or technical audience.
On the library website, click on Journals by Title to search for a particular journal, newspaper, or periodical title. Type in the name of the journal or newspaper or periodical.
The search results will indicate if we have the journal, and whether we have it in print format or electronically via a database. Be sure to click on all records that most nearly match the journal title in question, as title changes and electronic access have made this a more complicated process than it may at first seem.
Here are lists of journals by subject that might be useful in studying climate change:
You've been searching in one of the library's databases and found an article that looks interesting. In many cases, a link to the article will be visible, but sometimes the full text isn't provided. This short video shows you how to quickly access the full text.