What information is on this page:
This page will highlight a variety of databases that are held at the library with great accessibility features.
Accessibility features of PsychINFO:
This database is through EBSCO. It's features, and search function is the same as the EBSCO ones in the box located to the right of this box.
There are articles that are available in HTML Full Text, and PDF options. It is best when searching on PsychInfo to limit our search to "Linked Full Text" which is the first option to filter on the left side of our search results. Then you could browse the articles which carry HTML Full Text and PDF options, and select the format you prefer.
Accessibility features of EBSCO Databases:
EBSCO is a company which hosts and provides databases. Two examples of EBSCO Databases that are available at the library are ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER and ECONLIT, although there are many more EBSCO databases provided at the library.
EBSCO TEXT TO SPEECH:
EBSCO provides text to speech options for articles that are available in HTML Full Text. Not every article is available in the HTML Full Text format however.
-To access this feature on a HTML Full Text article, once you click on the HTML Full Text File, an audio widget is below the title of the article.
You can change the accent of the audio player, but you can also change the speed of the speech as well, and can do so by selecting the gear icon
() which from the right, is the third button in.
-This will open a new window, which has additional reading settings. You can adjust the speed, options with text highlighting, as well as enhancing text visibility.
-You can select a specific passage that you would like converted from text to speech as well. This can be done by selecting the section you wish to hear, and a mini audio player will appear. You would select the "Listen" icon that appears to have the text of this section converted to speech.
-You can also download Text to Speech as MP3 files as well on EBSCO Databases. To do this, you would select the download icon which is the second button in from the right of the audio toolbar, shown below.
Once you have selected the download icon, a window will appear where you can decide to either open or save the MP3 file.
ADDITIONAL ACCESSIBILITY WITH EBSCO:
Adobe Reader's Text to Speech Feature: As it was mentioned previously, EBSCO's audio widget is only available in HTML Full Text Files. However, this does not mean if your article in a PDF file is not usable. You would only need to download the file, and open it with Adobe Reader DC, and have a Text-To-Speech Engine installed on your system.
-To download your PDF file, you would need to open it from the search results, then select the download button. This button is the third button in on the horizontal ribbon at the top of the file.
-You would then save the file.
-After saving the file, you should open the Adobe Reader program.
-Once you have opened the Adobe Reader program, you then would open the file you saved of the article.
-To make sure you have your correct settings, you would select the preferences dialog box of Acrobat Reader by selecting Edit > Preferences. Then on the left menu screen select Reading. After that on the right section, you can deselect the "default voice" section, and select your voice of choice, and select OK.
-After this, you would activate "Read Aloud" by choosing View > Read Out Loud > Activate Read Out Loud.
EBSCO'S ACCESSIBILITY GUIDES:
EBSCO provides a detailed guide and how their product works with programs such as JAWS and specific browsers.
Below are their guides:
Accessibility features of Gale Databases:
Gale Databases have a text to speech accessibility feature which is available on full text articles. This is called the "listen" feature. The following is the icon for the listen feature: 
Once you have selected the title of the article you would like to hear aloud, at the top of the article, the listen feature will appear. The "Listen" icon which is a speaker icon, can be found on a ribbon below the authors of the article, and is the fourth icon from the left side of the ribbon.
You can download the articles as an MP3 through Gale as well. An example a Gale database is ACADEMIC ONEFILE which is carried at Connecticut College.
Accessibility features of PROQUEST Databases:
ProQuest Databases newer articles are scanned to be ADA compliant PDF files, however, this is not true for the older files they carry. The older files are not able to be read by a screen reader, and are marked as "Scanned Image PDF". This label appears on links and page headers. If you need assistance with a specific article contained within our ProQuest collection, please contact a reference librarian.
Accessibility features of JSTOR:
If you are using a screen reader, the search results appear in the following order:
To access the full text version of an article, select the PDF option from the results list.
JSTOR uses an automatic process to tag their PDF files. If a file is not tag correctly, they will manually tag the PDF file for you.
They would be able to do this through their contact information listed below:
Phone: (888) 388-3574
Email: support@jstor.org
Twitter: @JSTORSupport
Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30 AM-5:00 P.M. EDT
Additional information about these requests can be found on the JSTOR ACCESSIBILITY POLICIES AND SUPPORT page.