This is the "Gen'l Resources" page of the "Religious Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Religious Studies  

Religious Studies Resources
Last Updated: Dec 2, 2014 URL: http://conncoll.libguides.com/religiousstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Gen'l Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Subject Headings

Subject Headings
Library of Congress Classification for Religion
(Philosophy, Psychology, Religion)

B - Philosophy (general
BC - Logic 
BD - Speculative philosophy 
BF - Psychology.Parapsychology. Occultism 
BH - Aesthetics 
BJ - Ethics. Social usages. Etiquette 
BL - Religion, Mythology, Rationalism 
BM - Judaism 
BP - Islam. Bahaism.Theosophy, etc.
BQ - Buddhism 
BR - Christianity 
BS - Bible 
BT - Doctrinal theology 
BV - Practical theology 
BX - Christian denominations 

 

Books & Media

Search the Library Catalog to find books, video's, government publications and journal titles. The catalog can be searched by author, title, keyword or subject and contains the holdings of Connecticut College as well as Trinity College and Wesleyan University. To search for books and media outside of the local catalog, use WorldCat.

General Religious Studies

Encyclopedias

Contemporary American Religion 
Wade Clark Roof, editor 
REF BL 2525 C65 2000  (2 vol.) 

Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience 
Charles H. Lippy and Peter W. Williams, editors 
REF BL 2525 E53 1987 

The Encyclopedia of American Religions: Religious Creeds 
J. Gordon Melton, editor 
REF BL 2525 E524 1988 

The Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion 
Robert Wuthnow, editor 
REF BL 65 P7 E53 1998  (2 vol.) 

The Encyclopedia of Religion 
Mircea Eliade, editor 
REF BL 31 E46 1987  (16 vol.) 

Encyclopedia of Religion and Ethics 
James Hastings, editor 
REF BL 31 E4   1917- 1922  (13 vol.) 

Encyclopedia of Religion and Society 
William H. Swatos, editor 
REF BL 60 E53 1998 

Religions of the World 
J. Gordon Melton and Martin Baumann, editors 
REF BL 80.3 R45 2002  (4 vol.) 

Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion 
Serinity Young, editor 
REF BL 458 E53 1999 

Dictionaries – General – Religious Studies
Encyclopedia of Religion 
Vergilius Fern, editor 
REF BL 31 E55 

HarperCollins Dictionary of Religion 
Jonathan Z. Smith, editor 
REF BL 31 H37 1995 

New Dictionary of Religions 
John R. Hinnells, editor 
REF BL 31 P48 1995 

Oxford Dictionary of World Religions 
John Bowker, editor 
REF BL 31 O9 1997 

Atlases

Atlas of Holy Places and Sacred Sites 
Colin Wilson 
ATLAS CASE BL 580 W55 1996 

Atlas of the Bible 
John Rogerson, editor 
ATLAS CASE BS 630 R6 1985 

Atlas of the Bible and Christianity 
Tim Dowley, editor 
ATLAS CASE G 2230 D68 1997 

Atlas of the Early Christian World 
Translated and edited by Mary Hedlund and H.H. Rowley 
ATLAS CASE  G 1046 E4 M42 

Atlas of the World’s Religions 
Ninian Smart, editor 
ATLAS CASE BL 80.2 A84 1999 

Historical Atlas of the Religions of the World 
Isma’il Rag, al Faruqui,, editor and David Sopher, map editor 
REF BL 80.2 F28 

The Macmillan Bible Atlas 
Revised edition 
Yohanan Aharoni and Michael Avi-Yonah 
ATLAS CASE G 2230 A2 1977 

New Historical Atlas of Religions in America
Edwin Scott Gaustad and Philip L. Barlow 
ATLAS CASE G 1201 E4 G3 2001 

CC Reference

Profile Image
Shain Library Reference
Contact Info
Hours of Reference Service:
Mon-Th: 9am-5pm and 6:30pm-9:30pm
Fri: 9am-5pm
Sat: Closed
Sun: 2pm-10pm
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip