Government Documents
![]()
![]() |
Online Resources Connecticut College Library |
![]() |
![]()
General Guides and Gateways
- Google Search -- US Government
- USAGov (WW information portal for the US Govt)
- Federal Web Locator (locate all federal agencies via Center for Information Law and Policy )
- Catalog of US Govt Publications (search for government documents)
- US Government Online Bookstore (also see the commercial site from Claitor's)
- Brief Guide to Citing Government Publications
Electronic Documents: Lists and Links
- Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
- GPO Access
- Federal Agencies (from WashLaw Web)
- U.S. Depository Ready Reference Sources (from Columbia University)
- Government Information by Title from NWU
- Government Periodicals on the Web from Auburn
- Government Brochures and Pamphlets from UB
- GPO Access Legislative Resources
- US House of Representatives
- US Senate Home Page
- Thomas (legislative information from the Library of Congress)
- Links to Congressional information from official and non-official sources from Thomas
- Internet Law Library (laws and regulations)
- Native American Law from NESL
- Lexis-Nexis Congressional Home Page (full-text access to Congressional Hearings and more---ConnCollege use only)
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Search (full-text access to news and legislative information---ConnCollege use only)
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 (House and Senate Reports and Documents from Readex---ConnCollege use only)
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps
- A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation (from LOC's American Memory collections) includes Statutes at Large to 1873
- Biographical Directory of the US Congress, 1774-present
Return to the Table of Contents
![]()
The Courts
- Supreme Court Website
- FindLaw(search Supreme Court Opinions from 1893 to the present)
- Selected Historic Decisions (over 600 historic Supreme Court decisions, from Cornell)
- Federal Judiciary Homepage
- LII's Eye on the Courts (cases in the news, from Cornell)
- Connecticut Judicial Branch Law Libraries
Return to the Table of Contents
![]()
Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the United States 2009 (1878-2008 editions)
- Fedstats (search engine for government data)
- US Census Bureau (also see its Customer Information Exchange Page)
- Census 2000 Demographic Profiles, easy access from Missouri Census Data Center
- U.S. Historical Census Data Browser from UVa
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
- StatUSA, including the National Trade Data Bank and the Economic Bulletin Board (password required---see Reference Librarian)
- The Beige Book, Current Economic Conditions from the Federal Reserve Board
- The Green Book, data on federal entitlement programs (last edition 2000)
- Federal Budget (PDF and spreadsheet)
- Economic Report of the President
Return to the Table of Contents
![]()
The States
- Connecticut Official Website
- Connecticut Cities and Towns
- Connecticut State Documents on the Internet
- Connecticut Economic Information from DECD (including CT Town Profiles)
- Connecticut School Profiles
- Connecticut Market Data
- State Constitutions, Statutes, and Related Legislative Information (from Cornell University)
- American Law Sources On-Line(includes state-by-state legal links)
- FindLaw (resources list for individual states)
- State and Local Government on the Net
Return to the Table of Contents
![]()
International
- CIA World Factbook (profiles of world countries and territories)
- Country Studies(Library of Congress)
- Portals to the World (electronic resources selected by LC)
- Foreign Governments (links to individual foreign government pages from NWU)
- Constitutions, Treaties, and Declarations (from Richard Kimber's Political Science Resources)
- U.S. State Department Home Page
- PCL Map Collection (from UTex---many CIA maps)
- United Nations
- InfoNation (UN: compare data for member states)
Return to the Table of Contents
![]()
Documents Administration
- FDLP Desktop (from the GPO Homepage)
-
(includes Item Lister and Documents Data Miner)
- Toolbox (processing and cataloging documents)
- Government Information Clearinghouse & Handout Exchange
- Columbia's DocsAdmin Page
- Connecticut GODORT
- GPLNE (Government Publications Librarians of New England)
Return to the Table of Contents
![]()
Current / Popular / Useful
- Elections and Voting (FedDocsTaskForce Frequently Used Sites)
- Federal Tax Forms and Publications
- Connecticut Tax Forms
- State Tax Links
- MedlinePlus (health information from the NLM)
- Healthfinder (consumer health and human services information)
- CPI Calculation Machine (worth of a dollar from the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis)
- FBI FOIA Electronic Reading Room (selected FBI files)
- EPA New England Annual Reports
- Forms from the Feds (from the University of Memphis)
- Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government for Kids
Return to the Table of Contents
![]()
Last Modified: 1 September 2009.
Thanks, James.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait