A list of some useful resources in astronomy and related areas:
AIP Advances
" AIP Advances is a new journal focusing on applied research in the physical sciences. The journal represents a new way to communicate your research and ensure that it is brought to the attention of the global physical sciences community. Using the best that technology has to offer, AIP Advances will put your work at the heart of the conversations taking place in the scientific community today."
ComPADRE
ComPADRE creates, hosts, and maintains collections of educational and community resources focused on the needs of specific audiences in Physics and Astronomy Education
Educational games – learn about Nobel prizes in Physics!
Play a game and find out about a Nobel Prize awarded discovery or work.
Eric Weisstein's World of Physics
Eric Weisstein's World of Science contains budding encyclopedias of astronomy, scientific biography, chemistry, and physics.
Fermilab
Scientists at Fermilab carry out research in high-energy physics to answer the questions: What is the universe made of? How does it work? Where did it come from?
Information Bridge (DOE)
DOE Scientific and Technical Information provides free public access to over 230,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of DOE research literature. The Information Bridge contains documents and citations in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics of interest related to DOE's mission
Lunar & Planetary Institute
The Lunar and Planetary Institute, a division of the Universities Space Research Association, was established during the Apollo missions to foster international collaboration and to serve as a repository for information gathered during the early years of the space program.
National Institute of Standards and Technology. Physics Laboratory
The Physics Laboratory is one of the major operating units of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Its mission is to support United States industry by providing measurement services and research for electronic, optical, and radiation technologies.
Online Particle Physics Information (SLAC Library)
This annotated list provides a highly selective set of online resources that are useful to the particle physics community. It describes each Web site so that efficient choices can be made amongst many sites which may appear similar.
Optics InfoBase
Optics InfoBase is OSA's (Optical Society of America) online library for OSA flagship journals and for partnered and copublished journals. It contains recent proceedings from OSA conferences. The Optics InfoBase has a variety of simple and advanced search and browse features for locating articles. It offers a growing number of tools for creating custom alerts and RSS feeds, linking to related content, exporting citations, and much more.
PHENIX Collaboration on Flicker
The PHENIX detector at Brookhaven National Laboratory's Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider (RHIC) records many different particles emerging from RHIC collisions, including photons, electrons, muons, and quark-containing particles called hadrons
Physics & Astronomy Links
Provides comprehensive reference material for physics and astronomy education and research.
Physics Flash Animations
More than 80 Flash animations from different areas of physics. Categories included are classical mechanics, optics, electricity and magnetism, quantum mechanics and sound. Flash animations can be used for illustrating Physics content. This page provides access to those animations which may be of general interest.
SciX Digital Library
Science Explorer (SciX) is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy, Earth science, heliophysics, physics, and planetary science. The Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) operates SciX for the scientific community under a NASA cooperative agreement.
Solar System Simulator - NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Computer-generated images, images from Voyager, and USGS maps of planets, stars, and miscellaneous space items.
U.C. Berkeley Physics Lecture Demonstrations
This physics WWW site is an effort to make available an on-line source of information and pictures used for preparing and performing undergraduate lecture demonstrations at the University of California Physics Department at Berkeley.
Adapted from: Physics, New Mexico State University.
