Subject & Research Guides: Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Sources: Reference books

Many books in the Reference collection include primary documents. Some encyclopedias or other works will have sidebars or appendices that contain primary source material, while other works are themselves collections of primary sources. Listed here are only a few works. Browsing the shelves further should be worthwhile. Need a hand? Ask a Librarian

American Feminism: Key Source Documents, 1848-1920
A chronological collection of key primary documents organized into four volumes: Suffrage; Work and education; Health, birth control, and prostitution; and Women's clubs and settlement.
Chronological History of U. S. Foreign Relations
Helps identify crucial political context for situating primary sources.
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: A Political, Social, and Military History
Volume 5 includes primary documents (pp. 2177 - 2460) organized into these categories: The Political Crisis; The War; Society, Culture, and Technology.
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
This large 14 volume encyclopedia is a handy way to search by topic and figure out what the main laws are relating to that topic.
Landmark Documents on the US Congress
The chronological order of documents covering the period 1787 - 1998 makes this an easy volume to browse.
Milestone Documents in African American History: Exploring the Essential Primary Sources
Organized chronologically into four volumes for the period 1619 - 2009. Each volume treats about 30 important primary documents with sections on overview, context, analysis, audience, impact, and further reading. There is an activity guide, primary documents listed by category, and a subject index at the end of volume 4.
Milestone Documents of World Religions: Exploring Traditions of Faith through Primary Sources
Organized chronologically into three volumes for the period 2404 BCE - 2002 CE. Each volume treats about 30 important primary documents with sections on overview, context, analysis, audience, impact, and further reading.
The Columbia Documentary History of Race and Ethnicity in America
A chronologically organized compendium of primary documents from the 1600s - 1990s.