Subject & Research Guides: Sustainability: Library Resources

Finding Library Resources

Whether you're on campus or working remotely, you can search for and access library resources through OneSearch. This is the place to search for academic journals, books, e-books and more to ground your proposal in the scholarly conversation.

Librarians can help you access library collections and make the most of your search experience online and in-person. If you need a hand, please just ask a librarian. Can't find anything in the library on your topic? Please, ask a librarian.

Library Hours are listed on the library website and include the hours during which reference or research support services are available, whether online or in person.

Related Guides

Climate Change

Weather

Below are a few featured databases that focus on sustainability and environmental issues. You can find more at the library homepage under Databases.

Academic OneFile - A comprehensive, database of more than 8,000 journals covering everything from science to the humanities.

BBC Landmark Video Collection - Provides access to cutting-edge series like Planet Earth and Blue Planet, along with newly added Big Cats and Dynasties series and others.

Environment Complete - Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Environmental Issues Online - Brings together multimedia materials (text, archival, primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.

GreenFile - Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

GREENR - Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more.

Science in Context - Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Includes full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

ScienceDirect - Covers resources in chemistry, materials science, engineering and technology, environmental science, pharmacology and toxicology, physics, math and computer science, earth sciences, biochemistry, microbiology and immunology, biological sciences, and clinical medicine. Coverage: 1995 - forward.

Scopus - Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Water Rights & Resources - A collection of resources designed for understanding state and federal laws governing water.

Journals may be found using the A to Z Journal Titles Search. The search can be filtered to Environmental Sciences journals. A few examples are below.

Current Research in Environmental Sustainability

Energy, Sustainability and Society

Energy for Sustainable Development

Environment, Development and Sustainability

Sustainability: Science, Practice & Policy

You can find Ebooks using OneSearch, the library's discovery catalog, and limiting the search by changing the Material Type to Books - Electronic.

Agri-Food Industry Strategies for Healthy Diets and Sustainability
Provides an overview of the challenges and future perspectives related to nutrition, public health, and sustainability.
Measuring Sustainability
Measuring the sustainability of development is crucial to achieving it and is one of the most actively studied issues in the area. This book presents valuable practical advice on how to develop measurements that will work in real-life development contexts. It describes and analyses how to derive validate and apply indicators in the course of an actual development project
Sustainability
Encouraging students to engage in the challenges and complexity of sustainability, this text considers not only the theories underlying sustainability, but more importantly how theories are translated into practice and the difficulties of achieving this in the world in which we live.
Sustainability Education
How do we equip learners with the values, knowledge, skills, and motivation to help achieve economic, social and ecological well-being? How can universities make a major contribution towards a more sustainable future? The first part of the book provides background on the current status of sustainability within higher education, including chapters discussing interdisciplinarity, international perspectives and pedagogy. The second part features 13 chapter case studies from teachers and lecturers in diverse disciplines, describing what has worked, how and why - and what hasn't.
Sustainability Indicators in Practice
Reflects diversity of professionals of inter-disciplinary backgrounds covering contemporary issues within different socio-economic and environmental contexts. Each chapter presents practical examples of the merits and challenges of using sustainability indicators and draws conclusions and lessons learned.

Print books may be located using OneSearch, the library's discovery catalog, and limiting the search by changing the Material Type to Books - Print.

Sustainability
Table of Contents: Loath this growth: sources of sustainability in the early modern world -- The industrial revolution and its discontents -- Eco-warriors: the environmental movement and the growth of ecological wisdom, 1960s-1970s -- Eco-nomics -- From concept to movement -- Sustainability today: 2000-present -- The future: 10 challenges for sustainability.
Living Well Now and in the Future
Most people acknowledge the profound importance of sustainability, but few can define it. We are ethically bound to live sustainably for the sake of future generations, but what does that mean? In this book Randall Curren, a philosopher, and Ellen Metzger, a scientist, clarify normative aspects of sustainability
Landscape Architecture and Environmental Sustainability
Table of Contents: A quick environmental history -- Ecological planning, strategy, design and land management -- Landscape as cleanser -- Infrastructure, green infrastructure -- Food, agriculture, and productive landscapes -- Landscape environmental art, beauty, activism & provocation -- Systems design, social sustainability and influence beyond site -- Less is more : a lighter touch -- Project and material ratings and selection.
Sustainability
Sustainability and social justice remain elusive even though each is unattainable without the other. Across the industrialized West and the Global South, unsustainable practices and social inequities exacerbate one another. How do social justice and sustainability connect? What does sustainability mean and, most importantly, how can we achieve it with justice? This volume tackles these questions, placing social justice and interdisciplinary approaches at the center of efforts for a more sustainable world.
The Upcycle
In this follow-up to Cradle to Cradle, the authors draw on the lessons gained from ten years of putting the Cradle to Cradle concept into practice with businesses, governments, and ordinary people and envision the next step in the solution to our ecological crisis: we don't just use or reuse resources with greater effectiveness, we actually improve the world as we live, create, and build.

DVDs are located on the main floor of Shain Library. You can search for titles using OneSearch, the library's discovery catalog, and limiting the Material Type to Video - DVD/VHS.

Bee People - Bee People is a groundbreaking film that takes movie goers inside the world of bees, and the people who keep them. The film begins with a look at the disturbing news associated with Colony Collapse Disorder. Bees are disappearing at alarming numbers. A vital partner in the creation of fully one-third of our food supply, bees have provided sustainability on earth for nearly 100 million years. What is the cause? This film dives in to not only explore the possibilities (nicotine based pesticides, mites, an as yet undiscovered virus) but it seeks to find the solution.

Cowspiracy the Sustainability Secret - Feature-length environmental documentary, following an intrepid filmmaker as he uncovers the most destructive industry facing the planet today and investigates why the world's leading environmental organizations are too afraid to talk about it"--Container.

Footprint - "Footprint takes a dizzying spin around the globe witnessing population explosions, overconsumption, limited resources, and expert testimony as to what a world straining at its limits can sustain.' -Container.

So Right, So Smart - "So Right So Smart profiles companies on the cutting edge of more sustainable business practices who are proving that being environmentally friendly is both good for the earth and good for business. Their inspiring stories of leadership and innovative change provide hopeful models for the larger business community and other institutions. The primary focus of the film is a behind-the-scenes look at the transformation of Interface Inc., a global carpet manufacturer led by Ray Anderson, one of the early pioneers of green business practices. In 1994, Anderson read Paul Hawken's The Ecology of Commerce and had an epiphany: the planet was in crisis and his business was contributing to the problem. Since then, Anderson has spearheaded an often-challenging effort to transform Interface to a "restorative enterprise," and has become an inspiration to other businesses. Working with heart and commitment, Interface surrounded itself with experts in sustainability to educate and hold the company accountable."--publisher's website.

You can search for streaming videos using OneSearch, the library's discovery catalog, and limiting the Material Type to Video - Streaming.

Environmental Impacts & Sustainability - Can economic growth be environmentally sustainable? Residents of Dhaka's slums show how extreme industrial pollution is destroying their environment and health. Next we talk to Bangladesh's environmental activists, factory owners and government officials and ask what needs to be done to make industrial growth sustainable? We then see how a company sited in a UK National Park, is facing the same challenges, but is reducing their carbon footprint and saving money by reducing pollution, waste and energy consumption.

Food Revolution. Behavioural Nudging: An Effective Way to Promote Food Sustainability? - We may not realise it, but every day, decisions we make about food could be influenced by behavioural nudges. Nudges are things like the smell of baking in a supermarket, or the placement of sweets by the checkout. Studies show that nudging can produce results, but can it be harnessed to promote food sustainability?

Going to green. Episode 1, Understanding Sustainability - Includes on-location demonstrations of best-practice eco-sustainable activities.

The Green Pioneers - This is a profile of two companies that seem to have proved it's possible to be green and make a profit.

Marketing and Sustainability - This video explains marketing and sustainability.