Open Data Sets and Visualization Resources: Open Data Sets by Topic

Published annually by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agriculture Statistics provides information on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.

Public archive of Census of Agriculture publications published 1840-2002 in PDF format.

Historical weather and climate information for Connecticut is available from a wide range of sources.

Monthly Climatic Data for the World (MCDW) contains monthly mean temperature, pressure, precipitation, vapor pressure, and hours of sunshine for approximately 2,000 surface data collection stations worldwide and monthly mean upper air temperatures, dew point depressions, and wind velocities for approximately 500 observing sites.

The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.

National Weather Service's Forecast Maps.

NHC's Data Archive products include reports such as Tropical Cyclone Reports and Advisories, Past Track Seasonal Maps, and Tropical Cyclone Climatology.

Timely and authoritative scientific data and information about climate.

Crops reports from 1940 - 2010, compiled by the Stanislaus County Agricultural Commissioner.

The Census of Agriculture is the leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. It is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States.

Explore past weather data with the Old Farmer's Almanac Weather History tool. Find historical weather data by zip code and access weather archives from more than 1,300 stations across the United States and Canada, dating back to 1945.

Global weather data (present and historical. For historical, Select "More" Tab in navigation bar, then Select "Historical").

Information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

Uniform Crime Reports - The Uniform Crime Reports (from the FBI) are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States.

Contains data on crime and victimization, arrests, dispositions, law enforcement personnel, and more.

Includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).

Primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States.

The Federal governments one-stop shop for data of all kinds, including GIS and scientific data.

Major statistical data sources on disability.

Military casualty data and Active Duty military/civilian personnel statistics by rank/grade, service totals, service by Region/Country.

Central source for up-to-date statistics from U.S. government; includes some reports analyzing statistics.

A standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest, that has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.

Explore human development data from around the world.

An A-Z country list with national statistical bureau links attached.

Gathers social and economic information on Mexican-US migration.

The National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) is the nation’s leading public policy center dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children.

Compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals, permanent legal residents, naturalized citizens and maps with various demographic characteristics (1996-present).

Includes multidimensional poverty index and specific summaries on the results of the MPI analyses in 104 developing nations.

A portal to search UN data from a wide variety of UN agencies.

International statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce.

Provides access to detailed tables and maps for population, housing, and businesses.

A compilation of international development indicators and socio-economic data.

Provides a yearly overview of the economic, social, and environmental state of the world. Also provides detailed economic data for most countries, quality of life indicators, and other demographic and environmental information.

Contains economic data for EU member states, EU candidate countries and other OECD countries (United States, Japan, Canada, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Mexico, Korea, Australia and New Zealand).

Contains several thousand economic time series, produced by a number of U.S. Government agencies and distributed in a variety of formats and media

Access structural and aggregated financial information & quarterly reports on FDIC-insured institutions

USAID data--Explains where U.S. foreign aid is invested in over 100 countries.

A database of international business statistics with over 5000 variables from over 200 countries. Data available from mid-1990s to present. (Free registration is required to access data sets).

Data on IMF lending, exchange rates, trade statistics and other economic and financial indicators.

In-depth economic analyses of the home building industry based on private and government data.

An eclectic mix of public use economic, demographic, and enterprise data,

Provides a complete historical record of all foreign assistance provided by the United States to the rest of the world. Search by country or agency.

Interactive national, international, regional economic data or industry statistics.

Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject for US labor statistics.

Data included in FedStats but " this website concentrates on "...statistics and reports on children and families."

A user-friendly source of data on educational performance and equity by race and class, kindergarten through college.

Explore hundreds of measures of well-being for kids across the nation, or in your state, city, or community.

State Profiles presents key data about each state's performance in the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) in mathematics, reading, writing, and science for grades 4 and 8.

Presents the results of the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), which measures student achievement in the U.S. in various subjects over time.

Contains data on voting, public opinion and political participation. Cumulative, time-series, panel and contextual data are available for download.

Nationally recognized as the leading source of scholarly research and current data about American women’s political participation. This site presents data and analysis of women's voting behavior, including statistics on turnout and the gender gap in voting.

Official vote counts from 1920 to the present for presidential and congressional elections compiled by the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives. This site also contains links to election resources found on the websites of the Census Bureau, National Archives, Federal Election Commission, and state election offices.

Requires Connecticut College log-in credentials.

Data and analyses of US elections, including data on presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial elections, political parties, campaigns, and demographic information.

Downloadable campaign finance information

A space to share and improve election data. You can create an account and either correct the cataloging information for the studies in this dataverse or upload new data files.

Four ICPSR studies that provide datasets of electoral returns for approx. 90% of all elections to the offices of president, governor, United States senator, and United States representative for all parties and candidates 1788-1990.

A list of online and print resources that contain U.S. election statistics for both federal and state elections.

The Office of the Federal Register at the National Archives coordinates the functions of the Electoral College on behalf of the Archivist of the United States, the States, and the Congress. This site contains the electoral votes and popular votes from 1789 to the present.

Voting and Registration data have been collected biennially by the U.S. Census Bureau in the November Current Population Survey (CPS). The statistics presented on this website are based on replies to survey inquiries about whether individuals were registered and/or voted in specific national elections. For the purpose of these estimates, election types are considered to be either congressional or presidential.

Information on international elections: Subnational elections of high interest; Political parties and candidates; Referendum provisions; News on election-related laws and developments around the world; Political institutions and electoral systems; Election results and voter turnout.

Contains approximately 1100 elections from 70+ countries at a constituency level for lower house legislative elections. Includes votes received by each candidate/party, total votes cast, number of eligible voters, and seat figures where available. Available in Stata, SPSS, and raw data formats.

Build data sets on national and subnational elections around the world 1940s-2010s. Accessible in multiple formats: spreadsheets, tables and GIS maps.

BP, one of the world's largest energy companies, publishes statistical reviews of world energy, projections and historical data.

Data on environmentally sustainable energy programs in developing countries.

Energy statistics by country

Monthly data for the biggest oil producing and consuming countries.

A program of the U.S. Department of Education's National Center for Education Statistics, this site provides annual and national statistics for all public elementary and secondary schools, and school districts across the U.S.

Contains both experimental and evaluated nuclear data including nuclear reaction ((the properties of interacting nuclei, e.g. cross sections) and nuclear structure (the properties of single nuclei) data.

Company level data on the supply and disposition of natural gas in the United States, electric power data collected by surveys, international energy statistics, energy country profiles for 217 countries, state and territory energy profiles for the U.S., financial data collected from major energy producers, short-term and historical energy outlook data & projections, and real energy prices.

Provides energy data for more than 215 countries, areas and regions on the production, trade and intermediate and final consumption for primary and secondary conventional, non-conventional and new and renewable sources of energy from 1990 onwards.

Provides data sets on energy, climate, forests, water, & sustainability.

US Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) global water information system.

CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.

Provides datasets on environmental issues in the areas of population, health, society, natural systems, climate, energy, transportation, food & agriculture, and economy & policy.

Data sets curated from projects funded by NSF Divison of Environmental Biology.

FEMC is a repository for data collected and used by academic, governmental and non-profit partners in the Northeast United States Region.

Provides climate, socio-economic and environmental data, both from the past and also in scenarios projected into the future.

Provides datasets and climate reports (land-based stations, satallite, radal, modelling, weather balloons, marine/ocian, paleoclimatology, and severe weather).

Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science, Inc. is a NSF funded project to provide infrastructure for national and international research on water resources, including a data portal.

United Nations agency providing data on fresh water issues around the globe.

Geochemical data from a variety of sources worldwide. Advanced search interface allows users to define many parameters to find appropriate information.

A clearinghouse to share earth science data from various partners.

Geospatial information from the Canadian federal government, including topographic maps and GIS data.

A large archive of climate data.

Bathymetry, earth observations from space, geomagnetic data & models, marine geology & geophysics, natural hazards, space weather & solar events.

A database of spatial data sources and other GIS information.

A spatial database of the location of the world's administrative areas including countries and lower level subdivisions.

U.S. Maps and Data.

Find interactive maps, GIS data sets, satellite imagery and related applications.

The Geospatial Data Gateway (GDG) is the One Stop Source for environmental and natural resources data.

A collection of 7,908 worldwide and regional geographic data layers, scanned historic maps and associated descriptive information that can be searched mapped and downloaded for use with your GIS software.

GIS data with a Meteorological slant issued by the National Weather Service

A public domain map dataset available at 1:10m, 1:50m, and 1:110 million scales. includes vector and raster data, can also create maps.

An open source, federated web application framework to rapidly discover, preview and retrieve geospatial data from multiple repositories.

The GEO Data Portal is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 500 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP.

Provides soil data and information [in map form] produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey.

A component of NASAs Earth Observing System (EOS) Data and Information System (EOSDIS). LP DAAC processes, archives, and distributes land data and products derived from the EOS sensors.

Public health statistics.

WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.

A centralized and comprehensive source of information and analyses on global health R&D activities for human disease.

Data from 219 countries and areas on the prevalence of HIV infection and AIDS cases and deaths.

Contains current data from surveys such as the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), birth and mortality detail files, National Immunization Survey, Longitudinal Study of Aging, and National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG).

NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse.

The PCS is conducted every two years, and collects demographic, clinical, and service-related information for each person who receives a public mental health service during a specified one-week period.

Aims to improve global health through better use of data. The Project conducts research in global health informatics and infectious disease epidemiology.

Estimates of life expectancy at birth for most of the census tracts in the United States for the period 2010-2015.

Downloadable data statistics of a variety of global health topics.

Migration has become one of the key components of population change in Europe. Migration flows over past decades among EU Member States and in- and outside of the EU have had a significant impact on the current population size in most Member States. Data is available on the number of foreign population residing in the countries (see Population heading in the Eurostat database), and the number of people arriving to and leaving each EU Member State every year can also be followed (immigration and emigration flows).

Timely, comprehensive migration statistics and reliable information about migration data globally

Current national and state-level demographic, social, and economic facts about immigrants to the United States; as well as stock, flow, citizenship, net migration, and historical data for countries in Europe, North America, and beyond.

OECD’s annual publication analysing recent developments in migration movements and policies in its countries. Each edition provides the latest statistical information on immigrant stocks and flows, immigrants in the labour market, and migration policies. Country notes provide detailed policy information for each OECD country and special chapters look at current issues in immigration.

Contains data on foreign and foreign-born population, migration flows, naturalisations and labour market outcomes.

The UN Refugee Agency data sources include Figures at a Glance, Population Statistics, Global Trends, etc.

The database currently contains data about UNHCR's populations of concern from the year 1951 up to 2014 and you can use it to investigate different aspects of these populations: their general composition by location of residence or origin, their status (refugees, asylum seekers, internally displaced persons, etc.), their evolution over time, and so on.

Includes data and reports on international migration.

The Yearbook of Immigration Statistics is a compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence (i.e., admitted as immigrants or became legal permanent residents), were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis (e.g., tourists, students, or workers), applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and returns.

International labor statistics, standards, key indicators of the labor market, labor force surveys, safety, work conditions, child labor, and labor legislation.

Contains international policies and data on employment, health, families and children, pension systems, international migration and other social policies and data.

Highlights the principal features of social security programs in more than 170 countries. Public use data downloadable as TXT or SAS zip files.

Information on international trade and economic development trends, markets, and labor force.

Provides international labor force and wage information and other economic statistics (1990-present).

Data drawn from the OPE Equity in Athletics Disclosure Website database reported by all co-educational postsecondary institutions that receive Title IV funding (i.e., those that participate in federal student aid programs) and that have an intercollegiate athletics program.

Provides customized reports for public inquiries relating to equity in athletics data.

Rankings and championship historical data by school or sport.

Official Olympic Games results.

Professional sports data for major and minor league baseball, NBA, NFL, NHL as well as college football, college basketball and olympic sports.

Links to sports data on American Football, Baseball, Basketball, Cricket, Cycling, Fencing, Golf, Hockey, Olympics, Poker, Racing, Rugby, Soccer, Tennis, and Volleyball

Provides statistical and financial data for the airline industry.

Contains data relevant to a range of transport policy issues including investment & maintenance, transport statistics, emissions, road taxation and safety.

Climate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information.

National Weather Service's Climate Predication Center U.S. drought information page.

Locate recent local climate data provided by the National Weather Service. Choose from the following: Daily Climate Report (CLI) Preliminary Climatology Data (CF6), Record Event Report (RER), Monthly Weather Summary (CLM), Regional Summary (RTP), and State Summary (Temp/Precip).

Storm Events Database, Severe Weather Data Inventory, Cyclone best track data, and Lightning strike data.

A resource guide pertaining to current and historical weather and forecasting data.