Use discipline-specific library databases to search through core and leading publications that help define the field. Databases often provide citations to journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, essays, and other documents. Some databases provide citations only; others provide full-text. If full-text is not available, click "check for full-text". If we don't have access to a publication you're looking for, try an inter-library loan request. Need a hand? Ask a librarian
Anthropology Databases:
Anthropology Resource Library: Contains field notes, draft manuscripts and published ethnographies from key scholars. Ethnographic Video is part of this collection.
AnthroSource: As a compilation of the Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of all core periodical and lesser-known journals from the early 19th century to today.
Ethnographic Video Online: A comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collection contains over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.
Other Databases:
Academic OneFile: A comprehensive database of more than 8,000 journals covering everything from science to the humanities.
Academic Search Premier: A good place to find general information including substantive news stories. Includes some scholarly (peer-reviewed) sources as well. Many are available as full text.
Access World News: Search through 150+ Connecticut newspapers, as well as over 11,000 local, regional, national and international sources (6,800+ US and almost 4,200 international sources). Mostly current with some coverage extending back to the 1990s or earlier.
Google Scholar: A simple way to search broadly for scholarly literature. Use these instructions to set it up so it links directly to the full-text of articles through Connecticut College subscriptions.
Historical Newspapers: A digital archive of 7 of the leading newspapers in North America. Titles include the Christian Science Monitor, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Time, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
JSTOR: Full text of journals from many different disciplines including 94 Anthropology journals. JSTOR journals are typically back issues, with the latest content embargoed for 3-5 years.
LLBA (Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts): Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Newspaper databases: A list of newspaper databases at Connecticut College Libraries.
Sage Journals Online: A full text collection of scholarly journals covering the humanities and social sciences, including a couple dozen anthropology/archaeology journals.
SocIndex: Provides coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, gender studies, ethnic & racial studies, rural & urban sociology, social psychology and many others. It contains 777 full-text journals, and more than 820 full-text books and monographs.
Think Tank Search: A wide variety of reports from US and international think tanks and advocacy organizations.