Library databases are among the library's most frequently used resources. Inside the databases below, you can find academic journal articles, newspaper articles, whole books, and a lot more. If you need a hand, please Ask a Librarian
Accessible Archives
Includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records. Collections include African American Newspapers, Godey's Ladys Book and the Liberator.
African American Newspapers
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Dates of coverage: 1827-1998.
African Diaspora: Cultural, Social and Political History
Contains digitized primary source documents, secondary sources and videos from around the world with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France.
Black Abolitionist Papers
This collection searches a unique set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.
Black Life in America
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by contemporary news media.
Black Thought and Culture
A collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major Black American leaders covering 250 years of history.
DataHaven
A non-profit organization dedicated to helping CT communities thrive by collecting and ensuring access to data on well-being, equity, and quality of life.
Encyclopedia of Africa
Covers prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa. In-depth articles examine contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groups from various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers.
Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895
Documents the full range of the African American experience during that period from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1895-present
Traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African Americans on the American cultural landscape. With coverage up to and including the 2008 election of Barack Obama.
History Vault
Access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. Collections includeCivil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle, Southern Life, Slavery and the Civil War, American Indians and the American West and Women's Studies.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, academic ebooks, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Includes 23 noteworthy journals in African American Studies and 62 in African Studies.
NAACP Papers (part of History Vault)
Features records of NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, CORE, and federal records on the Black Freedom Struggle.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers
Examine major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explore everyday life as written in the Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Cleveland Call and Post, and the Michigan Chronicle.
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
The liberation of Southern Africa and the dismantling of the Apartheid regime was one of the major political developments of the 20th century, with far-reaching consequences for people throughout Africa and around the globe. This collection focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.
World Heritage Sites: Africa
Links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites.