Keyboard ResourcesString ResourcesVocal ResourcesWoodwinds/Brass Resources
This is the "Home" page of the "Music Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music Resources  

Greer Music Library (located on the lower level of Cummings Arts Center) serves the research, information and performance needs of the Department of Music and the entire college community. Visitors are welcome!
Last Updated: Jul 21, 2014 URL: http://conncoll.libguides.com/greer Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Staff Contacts

Carolyn A. Johnson, Music Librarian

cajoh@conncoll.edu

June S. Ingram, Assistant in the Music Library

jsing@conncoll.edu

 

Telephone numbers

Greer circulation desk:  439-2711

Greer staff office:  439-2710

 

Library Hours

Basic Hours:

Mon-Thurs.       8:30 a.m.-11:00 p.m.

Fri.                  8:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m.

Sat.                 1:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m.

Sun.                1:00 p.m.-11:00 p.m.

Hours change during exams, breaks, and in some instances of severe weather.  Check online for hours.  Also look for updates on the Greer Facebook page.

 

Circulation Policies

The basic loan schedule:
Books/scores/CD-ROMs/microforms (non-reference):
- 28 days (academic year for faculty/honors/grad)

Restricted scores:
- 14 days for faculty/honors/grad; all others in-house

Compact discs, Vinyl LPs:
- 14 days

Audio cassettes:
- 28 days

Videocassettes/Laserdiscs/DVDs:
- 3 days (8 days for faculty/honors/grad/staff); non-college borrowers have restrictions on number visual media items they may take out

CD-ROMs (non-reference):
- 28 days (academic year for faculty/honors/grad)

Reference books, reserve materials, periodicals, special collection materials
- In-house use only; special arrangements for faculty for certain items

 

Greer Music Library Collection

The Collection

The music library serves the research, information and performance needs of the Department of Music and the entire college community. The library collection includes books about music and musicians, periodicals, reference sources and indexes (print and electronic), collected works of major composers, study and performance scores of music, sound and video/laser disc recordings of musical performances, and computer-based support for the teaching and research needs of users. Special collections of sound recordings such as the Hilliar Collection (opera) and the Shelley Jazz Collection complement the main holdings of the library.  A special collection of 19th and 20th century sheet music of (primarily) popular songs is also available for research use.

Click here to search Caravan, our online catalog.

For information about music holdings in the Linda Lear Center for Special Collections and Archives, click here.

Information and Reference:
The music librarian and assistant in the music library are available during regular business hours to help users find information, learn how to search on-line, and locate materials.  On evenings and weekends trained student assistants can assist visitors with basic searches.  Patrons are invited to inform the staff of their questions, requests, or concerns. Students needing help with research projects may schedule an appointment with the music librarian for a Personal Research Session (x2710).

Circulation Policies:
Most library materials can be borrowed by Connecticut College faculty, students, and staff.  Non-college patrons with a vaild library card receive the same borrowing privileges as students. Application for a card must be made with the Circulation Department at the Charles E. Shain Library (call 439-2662 for information).  Visitors are always welcome to use the library collection in-house, including recordings and other media. 

Course Reserve:
Required reading, listening, and viewing assignments for music courses are kept at the circulation desk in Greer, and materials must be used in the library.  The reserve list for each course is posted on-line, and is reached by clicking on the "Course Reserves" option found on the Information Services "Libraries" page or from a Caravan search screen.

Audio/Video/Computer Facilities:
The music library provides facilities for the playback of sound recordings, videocassettes, DVDs, and laserdiscs. The library also owns one cassette-to-cassette dubber and a reel-to-reel tape player.
The Greer Music Library provides two public computer workstations for general patron use, including visitors. Both provide access to the on-line catalog and reserve desk list,  several reference databases, the internet, and to e-mail.   Additional computers requiring a valid user name and password are available for use by CC faculty, students, and staff.  However, only Connecticut College faculty, students, and staff may print out materials from the computers.  Music composition software (Sibelius) is accessible via the logon workstations. Eligible Connecticut College patrons with laptops may also connect to the College network via wireless access in the  library. Headphones for use with computers and library audio equipment may be borrowed from the circulation desk. The Department of Music's piano lab is located in Greer, and students are eligible to use the pianos. Headphones for the pianos are also available at the circulation desk.  A boombox, metronomes, and a Korg orchestral tuner may be borrowed for use outside of the library.

The CTW Consortium:
Connecticut College is a member of the CTW Library Consortium with Wesleyan University and Trinity College. The three institutions share an on-line catalog and provide reciprocal borrowing privileges for faculty, staff and currently enrolled students. Books, scores, videos, and sound recordings not available in Greer can often be obtained from Trinity or Wesleyan using the on-line REQUEST function.  If you need assistance, or would like further information about this service, ask at the circulation desk.
For books, scores and media not available within the CTW system, users can place a request through the Interlibrary Loan service. This service must be used for all periodical article requests.  Forms are available on-line, via the Information ServicesLibraries web page.  For further information, call the ILL office (located in Shain) at x2667.

Study Space:
The music library provides ample study space for patrons, with study tables, easy chairs, and ottomans located in the main reading room.  Additional listening and study carrels are located in Rooms 123 and 124 within Greer.  These offer spacious desktop work areas with individual lights and provide a quiet, private nook for study and research.  Three of the carrels are available for academic year reservation by music honors students.   A group study room (125) may be reserved for individual or group study, meetings, and classes (8-12 people max.)

Photocopying:
The library provides a multi-functional device (MFD) running the Uniflow system.  This serves as a photocopier, scanner, and printer, and users must have a valid Connecticut College ID to swipe.  A separate coin-operated photocopier is also available; copies are 5 cents a page. Please be mindful of copyright restrictions when photocopying library materials.

Recording:
The copying of library recordings or DVDs onto personal laptops is not allowed in the library. 

Copyright: For further information on music-related copyright interpretations, consult the Music Library Association copyright guide by clicking here.

Greer Music Library

Profile Image
Greer

Online Catalog...and more

Links to Caravan, the online catalog ; WorldCat, catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide ; and more...

 

Greer Library is on Facebook

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip