This is the "Home" page of the "East Asian Languages & Culture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

East Asian Languages & Culture  

Last Updated: May 20, 2011 URL: http://conncoll.libguides.com/eastasianstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact

Ashley Hanson is the Library Liaison to the East Asian Languages and Cultures Dept.  She may be reached at x2653 or email her at abpow@conncoll.edu.

 

 

Resources in Shain Library

Books & Media
Search the Library Catalog to find books, video's, government publications and journal titles. The catalog can be searched by author, title, keyword or subject and contains the holdings of Connecticut College as well as Trinity College and Wesleyan University. To search for books and media outside of the local catalog, use WorldCat.

Reference books found in Shain Library

Dictionaries
Below is just a short list of a few of the most popular Asian language dictionaries in our Reference section.  The Shain Library has many other Asian language dictionaries too, some in reference, some that can be charged out.

REF PL 679 K388 1980
Kenkyusha’s new English-Japanese dictionary

REF PL 679 K4 2000
Kenkyusha’s new Japanese-English dictionary

REF PL 1455 L68
Liu’s Chinese-English dictionary = Liu shih Han Ying ta tz’u tien

REF PL 1497 L589
Liu’s Chinese-English dictionary of idiom-phrase

REF PL 1455 Y6634 1987 (2 vol)
Ying Han tz’u hai = The English-Chinese word-ocean dictionary

Encyclopedias and atlases

REF DS 721 B56 1998
Cultural atlas of
ChinaBy Caroline Blunden and Mark Elvin

REF DS 821 C62 1988
Cultural atlas of JapanBy Martin Collcutt, Marius Jansen and Isao Kumakura

REF DS 31 E53 1988
Encyclopedia of Asian historyPrepared under the auspices of the Asia Society; Ainslie T. Embree, editor in chief

REF DS 705 P47 1999
Encyclopedia of China : the essential reference to China, its history and culture
By Dorothy Perkins

REF DS 822.5 E516 2002
Encyclopedia of contemporary Japanese culture
Edited by Sandra Buckley

REF DS 4 E53 2002 (6 vol)
Encyclopedia of modern Asia
Edited by David Levinson and Karen Christensen

REF DS 805 K633 (9 vol)
Kodansha encyclopedia of Japan

    Ask a Librarian

    Profile Image
    Reference Desk Shain Library
    Contact Info
    Shain Library Reference Desk hours and contact information:
    860-439-2655
    Hours:
    M - Th 9am-5pm & 7pm-10pm
    F 9am-5pm
    Sun 2pm-10pm
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip