Highlighted below are some of the databases particularly relevant to biology. To see the entire list of biology databases, you can filter the library's database page to just Biology under the "Subjects" tab in the center of the page. You will need to be logged in with your Connecticut College credentials to access.
Agricola - Covers resources in agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, and soil and water resources.
bioRxiv - An online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
PubMed - Comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Science in Context - Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Includes full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Science Reference Center - Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources.
ScienceDirect - Covers resources in chemistry, materials science, engineering and technology, environmental science, pharmacology and toxicology, physics, math and computer science, earth sciences, biochemistry, microbiology and immunology, biological sciences, and clinical medicine.
Scopus - Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Please contact me if you need help navigating any of the databases.
