Skip to Main Content

Linda Lear Center for Special Collections and Archives: Special Collections, Manuscripts, Rare Books

A guide to conducting archival research and exploring special collections at Connecticut College

Premier manuscript collections include the Lear-Carson Collection, a research archive of the life and work of Rachel Carson, the Sheaffer-O'Neill Collection of manuscripts, photographs, documents, and important editions of Eugene O'Neill, the Prudence Crandall Collection, containing letters and personal papers of the nineteenth-century Connecticut education and civil rights pioneer, and the Lear-Potter Collection, a research archive of the life and work of Beatrix Potter. We also collect and preserve materials related to Civil Rights, Indigenous Studies, and Feminist Activism.

The American Women's collection contains original materials of notable American women such as Belle Moskowitz, Frances Perkins, Alice Hamilton, Roberta Bitgood, Anna Hempstead Branch, Mary Jobe Akeley, Lillian Wald, and Mary Morrison.  A significant addition to this collection were materials from the World Center for Women’s Archives founded by Mary Ritter Beard.

Important book collections include the Helen O. Gildersleeve Collection of Children's Books and the Timothy Green Collection of 18th century New London imprints. Among the major art collections are the Chu-Griffis Asian Art Collection, with over 250 Chinese paintings, calligraphic scrolls, and Japanese woodcuts and the Artists' Books Collection with nearly 200 artists' books in a variety of formats.