Skip to Main Content

Exit West: Library Resources: Articles

Mohsin Hamid's novel Exit West has been selected to be the 2018 summer read for incoming first-year students at Connecticut College. This guide presents an overview of library resources that can be used to expand your understanding of the text and the iss

Articles Overview

As with books, academic research is virtually impossible without engaging with the scholarly literature (e.g. articles) published in peer-reviewed journals. In other words, in order to research a topic, try searching for articles in academic journals to see what scholars are talking about.

At Connecticut College, we normally search for articles by using our library databases. Each library database can provide access to hundreds or thousands of journals in a particular field, or in a discipline or subject area. See some of the search examples in the following boxes.

Finding articles with OneSearch

Try a basic search in OneSearch on the library website for global* migra* (note that * is used for truncation, so it would find results for global, globalization, migrant, migrants, migration, etc.).

  • Looking at the results, notice the facets on the left-hand side of the screen: Availability; Material Type; Subject; Database; Journal Title; etc.
  • Try selecting one or a combination of facets from the left to limit your results. For example, try selecting: Peer-reviewed journals.
  • Limit further by selecting additional facets for Subject; Author; Database; etc.

Select results from OneSearch

Aubry, Amandine, Michal Burzynski, and Frédéric Docquier. "The Welfare Impact of Global Migration in OECD Countries." Journal of International Economics 101 (2016): 1-21.

Breunig, Christian, Xun Cao, and Adam Luedtke. "Global Migration and Political Regime Type: A Democratic Disadvantage." British Journal of Political Science 42.4 (2012): 825-54. 

Zinkina, Julia, and Andrey Korotayev. "What Does Global Migration Network Say about Recent Changes in the World System Structure?" Journal for Multicultural Education 8.3 (2014): 146-61. 

Library Databases

Individual multi-disciplinary or subject-specific databases offer a focused search environment in which to uncover the literature of a particular field. 

Academic Search Premier - a large multidisciplinary database

Art & Architecture Source - covers fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture 

JSTOR - full-text back files of hundreds of academic journals in many disciplines

MLA International Bibliography - the core database for literature and an extremely powerful resource that indexes millions of articles and books in multiple languages

Political Science Complete - extensive coverage on global political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse

Project Muse - humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 120 scholarly publishers

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature - an index of music literature that contains records in many languages from thousands of journals

SocINDEX - contains an array of sociology-related journals from such fields of study as abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, gender studies, ethnic & racial studies, rural & urban sociology, social psychology 

Select results from individual databases

Cormack, Alistair. “Migration and the Politics of Narrative Form: Realism and the Postcolonial Subject in Brick Lane.” Contemporary Literature 47.4, (2006): 695–721. Found in JSTOR. 

Dovey, Lindiwe. "Subjects of Exile: Alienation in Francophone West African Cinema." International Journal of Francophone Studies 12.1 (April 2009): 55-75. Found in Academic Search Complete.

Jiiozeliūnienè, Irena, and Irma Budginaitè. "Global Migration and Family Change in the Baltic Sea Region." Journal of Comparative Family Studies 47.1 (2016): 65-86. Found in Academic Search Complete.

Pine, Frances. "Migration as Hope: Space, Time, and Imagining the Future." Current Anthropology 55.S9 (2014): S95-104. Found in JSTOR.

Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar is a great way to find academic articles.

When you search on campus, Google Scholar automatically recognizes your IP address and provides links to the full text of articles paid for by the library. For the same results off-campus, try logging into the VPN.

Take advantage of the Cited by and Related Articles features, too!

 

Select results from Google Scholar

Bogic, Marija, Anthony Njoku, and Stefan Priebe. "Long-term Mental Health of War-Refugees: A Systematic Literature Review." BMC International Health and Human Rights 15.29 (2015): 2-41.

Dar, Jehanzeb. "Holy Islamophobia, Batman! Demonization of Muslims and Arabs in Mainstream American Comic Books." Counterpoints 346 (2010): 99-110.

Fiddian-Qasmiyeh, Elena, and Yousif M. Qasmiyeh. "Muslim Asylum-Seekers and Refugees: Negotiating Identity, Politics and Religion in the UK." Journal of Refugee Studies 23.3 (2010): 294-314.