Admin Sign In 

Theater Resources 

Last update: Mar 30, 2009 URL: http://conncoll.libguides.com/theater  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Contact

Carolyn Johnson is the Library Liaison to the Theater Dept.  She may be reached at x2710 or email her at carolyn.johnson@conncoll.edu

Do you need help researching a theater topic?  If you are in Shain Library, consult with the Reference Librarian on duty.  Feel free, however, to contact the Library Liaison for assistance as well. 

Faculty and students are welcome to submit suggestions for new library acquisitions to the Library Liaison.

 

 

Greer Music Library

Most materials on musical theater are located in the Greer Music Library.  The library is located across the courtyard from Palmer Auditorium on the lower level of the Cummings Arts Center

Library Hours

Monday-Thursday  8:30 a.m.-11:00 p.m.

Friday  8:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m.

Saturday  1:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m.

Sunday  1:00 p.m.-11:00 p.m.

Please note that library hours change during College breaks.  Check the online library hours for the latest information.

 
 

Theater Resources in Shain Library

Books, Journals, & Media
Search the Library Catalog to find books (including playscripts), video's, government publications and journal titles. The catalog can be searched by author, title, keyword or subject and contains the holdings of Connecticut College.  Click on the "CTW Libraries" tab to search the Trinity College and Wesleyan University catalogs.  You may borrow materials from both via the online REQUEST tab. To search for books and media outside of the local catalog, use Worldcat.

To find journals, search in Caravan using the "Journal Title" command.  You may also use the journal "A-Z" list located at the following link: www.conncoll.edu/Libraries/journalsandmore.html.

The following is just a very brief listing of a few basic theater reference titles.  Once you find any of the titles listed below, browse the neighboring shelves and you’ll discover many more useful sources for research in various aspects of theater. 

Brown, Gene.  Show time: a chronology of Broadway and the theatre from its beginnings to the present. 
REF PN2277 .N5 B69 1997
The author introduces each year with a brief “Yearly Overview”, then proceeds to provide production information for plays and musicals.  He includes brief biographies of theater personalities of the year, and other personal and business related facts.  The chronology is not all-inclusive -- only major shows (and failures) are presented.

Chambers, Colin, ed.  The Continuum companion to twentieth century theatre. 
REF PN2035 .C65 2002
Meant for quick reference and background information, this source offers brief articles written by scholars and practitioners on everything from terms to people. Scan the opening pages of the book and you’ll find a useful “Selected Reference Bibliography” and a list of interesting theater-related website addresses.

Harrison, Martin.  The language of theatre. 
REF PN2035 .H297 1998
Harrison’s book is a miniature Oxford English Dictionary for theater terminology.  Not only is the definition of a word provided, but the author also delves into the derivation of the term.  This source is both useful and interesting.

Hischak, Thomas S.  American theatre: a chronicle of comedy and drama, 1969-2000.
REF PN2277 .N5 H57 2001
This resource is a continuation of Gerald Bordman’s series of volumes and presents a production chronology of Broadway non-musical shows.  Also included are most Off Broadway productions as well as selected Off Off Broadway and monologue theater presentations.   The book is written in a narrative style, so use the indexes to find information quickly.

Kennedy, Dennis, ed.  The Oxford encyclopedia of theatre & performance. 
REF PN2035 .O94 2003 v.1-2
Brief articles written by scholars in the field provide quick background information on a wide range of theater subjects including terminology, theory, biography, and regional theater centers.  Coverage is international in scope.

Lounsbury, Warren C., and Norman C. Boulanger.  Theatre backstage from A to Z. 4th  ed., rev. and expanded. 
REF PN2091 .M3 L68 1999
Boulanger has updated this technically-oriented source.  The book begins with an            introduction titled “Scenery and Lighting Practices in the United States”.  The heart of this volume lies in the dictionary of terms associated with stage machinery, lighting, sets, and scenery.  This book includes a bibliography (somewhat dated) and a list of manufacturers (with URLs).

New York theatre critics’ reviews.  New York, N.Y.: Critics’ Theatre Reviews, 1973/74-1994.  Continued by:  National theatre critics’ reviews. 1995-1996.
REF PN2000 .N76 yr
This resource gathers reviews for shows (non-musical and musical) from a variety of New York print and media sources.  

Owen, Bobbi.  The Broadway design roster: designers and their credits. 
REF PN2096 .A1 O93 2003
Brief biographies of designers as well as lists of design awards, a selected bibliography, and an index of plays contribute to the usefulness of this volume.

Theatre world. 
PN2277 .N5 A17 1980/81-1999/00
Theatre World is a year by year chronology of Broadway and Off Broadway productions.  Biographical information, awards lists, and obituaries are included.  The index provides quick access to the contents of each volume.  This source is not shelved in the Reference book section, but rather, in the regular circulating collection.

The world encyclopedia of contemporary theatre. 
REF PN1861 W67 1994 v.1-6
This is a useful source for obtaining background information on international aspects of theater. Each of the first 5 volumes covers a different area of the world.  The final volume includes an extensive bibliography and an index to the set.

     

    Greer Music Library

    Carolyn Johnson


    Contact Info:
    Cummings Arts Center, lower level
    Circulation desk: (860) 439-2711
    Library office: (860) 439-2710
    REGULAR HOURS
    Mon-Thur: 8:30am - 11:00pm
    Fri: 8:30am - 5:00pm
    Sat: 1:00pm - 5:00pm
    Sun: 1:00pm - 11:00pm
    Send Email

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait