This guide is to help the students who are doing research in the field of gender, sexuality and intersectionality. Intersectionality provides a framework in which to study interconnectedness or interlocking social categories and systems of power.
The Body Is Not an Apology by 
Erotic Islands by 
Ezili's Mirrors by 
Feminist Manifestos by 
Gay Priori by 
Girls, Feminism, and Grassroots Literacies by 
Global Sex by 
Intersectionality by 
True Sex by
Subject Headings and Call Numbers for Gender, Sexuality and Intersectionality:
Listed below are selected broad subject headings that can be used to search the Library Catalog or possibly other databases, for materials related to this topic. General call numbers for locating books are listed for each subject heading. The use of more specific subject headings or keywords is recommended for most topics. You can also browse these sections of the Library stacks. The HQ section is on the third floor of Shain.
|
Subject Headings |
Call Numbers |
|
Feminism |
HQ1101-HQ2030.7 |
|
Feminist theory |
HQ1190 |
|
Sex discrimination against women |
HQ1237-HQ1237.5 |
|
Sex role |
HQ1075-HQ1075.5 |
|
Women--Education |
LC1401-LC2572 |
|
Women--Employment |
HD6050-HD6223 |
|
Women and literature |
P+ |
|
Women and religion |
BL458, etc. |
|
Women in politics |
HQ1390-HQ1391 |
|
Women's rights |
HQ1236-HQ1236.5 |
|
Women's studies |
HQ1180-HQ1186 |
Due to the interdisciplinary nature of this subject, books on Gender and Women’s Studies can be found in many areas of the library. A short list of general encyclopedias on this topic follow. These encyclopedias provide a great starting place for any Gender and Women’s Studies research paper.
REF HQ 1115 .E52 2001
Encyclopedia of women and gender: sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender
Judith Worell, editor-in-chief
REF HQ 1180 R43 1998
Reader’s guide to women’s studies
Eleanor B. Amico, editor
REF HQ 1115 .R69 2000
Routledge international encyclopedia of women: global women’s issues and knowledge
Cheris Kramarae and Dale Spender, general editorsVol. 1 Ability to Education: globalizationVol. 2 Education: Health to HypertensionVol. 3 Identity politics to publishingVol. 4 Quakers to Zionism. Index
REF HQ 1115 .W6425 1997
Women’s issues
Margaret McFadden, consulting editor
REF HQ 1115W645 1999
Women’s studies encyclopedia
Helen Tierney, editor
The LGBTQIA Center serves the unique needs of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and questioning students by providing a supportive space, resource library, social events and educational programming. We are committed to understanding how homophobia and heterosexism interlink with sexism, racism and classism to perpetuate oppression. The Center also serves as a resource for the entire College community to learn about issues related to sexuality and gender identity.
Department of Gender, Sexuality, and Intersectionality Studies
The Department of Gender, Sexuality and Intersectionality Studies provides students with an interdisciplinary program that teaches them how to think analytically and then apply their knowledge in real-world settings.
