This is the "Library Resources" page of the "Latin American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Latin American Studies  

.
Last Updated: May 4, 2009 URL: http://conncoll.libguides.com/las Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Caravan (books)

  • Caravan: library catalog
    Search for books at Connecticut College or select CTW Libraries to request books from Trinity College and Wesleyan University.
 

Library Resources

This guide lists some of the most important and recent resources pertinent to Latin American Studies at Shain Library and on the Internet.  It is intended as a starting place for your research and not as a comprehensive guide. Information related to the study of individual countries can be found at Reference Resources on World Countries.  You may also wish to refer to the Hispanic Studies research guide.

Books & Media
Search the Library Catalog to find books, video's, government publications and journal titles. The catalog can be searched by author, title, keyword or subject and contains the holdings of Connecticut College as well as Trinity College and Wesleyan University. To search for books and media outside of the local catalog, use WorldCat.

Books in the Library are arranged by Library of Congress (LC) subject headings.  Examples of LC subject headings that may be useful for locating books and videos relating to Latin American studies follow:

E184. S75

Spanish Americans

F1201-3799

History:  Latin America. Spanish America

JL599.5 – 3899

Political Institutions – West Indies, Caribbean Area, Mexico, Central American and South America

PC4001 - 4977

Spanish Language

PQ6001 – 8929

Spanish Literature

PQ7081 – 8560

Spanish American Literature

Reference books are a useful starting point for your research.  Examples of Latin American Studies reference resources available in Shain Library are listed below

Cambridge History of Native Peoples of the Americas vols 2 &3 (1996)
E77 C253 1996

Notable Latino Americans: A Biographical Dictionary (1997)
E184 S75 M435  [Reference]

Milenios de Mexico (1999)
F1204 M995 v.1-3 [Reference]

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (1996)
F1406 E53 v.1-5 [Reference]

Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics (2002)
F1410 E56 [Reference]

Handbook of Middle American Indians
F1434 H3 v.1-16 [Reference]

Statistical Abstract of Latin America
HA935 S8 [Reference]

Artists from Latin American Cultures: a Biographical Dictionary (2002)
N6502.5 C657 [Reference]

A Guide to Latin American, Caribbean, and U.S. Latino-Made Film and Video (1998)
PN1995.9 L37 G85 [Reference]

Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature (1997)
PQ7081 A1 E56 [Reference]

The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature (1996)
PQ7081 A1 C35 v.1-3 [Reference]

Latin American Writers (1989)
PQ7081 A1 L37 v.1-3 [Reference]

Spanish American Authors: the Twentieth Century (1997)
PQ7081.3 L63 [Reference]

Latinos and Politics: A Research Bibliography of Hispanic Americans in Politics and Government (1991)
Z1361 S7 L365 [Reference]

Writers of the Caribbean and Central America: a Bibliography (1992)
Z1595 F46  [Reference]

Ask a Librarian

Profile Image
Reference Desk Shain Library
Contact Info
Shain Library Reference Desk hours and contact information:
860-439-2655
Hours:
M - Th 9am-5pm & 6:30pm-9:30pm
F 9am-5pm
Sun 2pm-10pm
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip