This is the "General Sources" page of the "Grant Seeking Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Grant Seeking Guide  

A selective list of print and electronic sources in the Charles E. Shain Library.
Last Updated: Dec 6, 2012 URL: http://conncoll.libguides.com/grants Print Guide RSS Updates

General Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Sources

General Information Sources:

Annual Register of Grant Support
REF AS 911 A2 A67
A directory of funding sources, including details of the grant support programs of government agencies, public and private foundations, corporations, community trusts, unions, educational and professional associations, and special interest organizations. Programs are grouped by subject.
 
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
DOCS REF PREx 2.20:994-2
A guide to federal programs, projects, services and activities that provide financial and nonfinancial assistance to the American public. The Catalog gives general information about federal assistance programs and their objectives.
Search Federal Domestic Assistance Catalog

Guide to Connecticut Grantmakers
REF AS 911 A2 G824 1999
An alphabetical listing of charitable organizations that were originally incorporated in Connecticut. Descriptions include contact people, general policies, purpose statements, subject emphases, priorities of interest, geographic preferences and sample grant recipients. We also have the CD ROM for this item. Ask for CD ROM No. 228 at the Circulation Desk. The 2001 CD ROM is No. 349.
 
Directory of Research Grants
REF LB 2338 D57
Provides information regarding funding for research-related programs and projects, scholarships, fellowships, conferences, and interships. Includes a subject index and a guide to proposal planning and writing.
 
The Foundation Center's Guide to Grantseeking on the Web
REF HV 41.2 F68 1998
This is a wonderful book, providing information about every web site that has anything to do with grants. It also provides some internet history and information on online journals and discussion lists.
 
The Foundation Directory
REF AS 911 A2 F65 
Arranged alphabetically by state, this directory provides information about U.S. grantmaking foundations with assets of $2 million or more or which make annual grants of at least $200,000. Descriptions include address, financial data, description of focus, a list of officers and trustees, types of grants awarded and application procedures. This is a Foundation Center publication.
 
Foundation fundamentals: a guide for grantseekers
REF AS 911 A2 F66 1999
Another Foundation Center publication. It's a great place to start. It begins with "What is a Foundation?" and leads you through the process of researching funding sources.
 
The Foundation Grants Index
REF AS 911 A2 N4
Provides information regarding funding by major foundations. Foundations are arranged by subject, geographic focus, types of support and types of organizations that receive grants. Also lists examples of recipients of grants of more than $10,000. This is a good place to start to develop an initial list of potential funding sources.
 
Foundation Grants to Individuals
REF AS 911.42 F6 
This Foundation Center publication is the most comprehensive listing of available private, U.S., foundations that provide financial assistance to individuals
 
Funding Sources for Children and Youth Programs
REF HV 741 F87
This lists funding opportunities for children and youth projects, including youth services, family services, health care, literacy projects, homelessness, life skills, violence prevention and more.

Funding Sources for Community and Economic Development
REF HV 41.2 F85
This is a guide to current sources for local programs and projects.  It also contains a guide to proposal planning and  writing.

Funding Sources for K-12 Education 
REF LC 243 A1 F86 
Funding sources for projects ranging from curriculum development to extra-curricular activities and summer programs.

 Getting the Grant - available online (campus use only)

Grants for Children & Youth - available online (campus use only) Information on Connecticut starts on page 149.

Grants for Community & Economic Development - availble online (campus use only) Information on Connecticut starts on page 78.

Grants for Environmental Protection and Animal Welfare 
REF HC 110 .E5 G73

Grants for Minorities -
available online (campus use only) Information on Connecticut starts on page 101

Grants for Women and Girls 
REF AS 911 A2 G64

National Guide to Funding in Arts and Culture
REF NX 396.6 N385

Operating Grants for Nonprofit Organizations
REF HV 41.2 O63
A very useful publication.  Many grants do not support operating costs.  This publication fills the void.

National Directory of Corporate Giving
REF HG 4028 C6 N37 2010
Provides information on over 4,100 corporate donors.

Ask a Librarian

Profile Image
Reference Desk Shain Library
Contact Info
Shain Library Reference Desk hours and contact information:
860-439-2655
Hours:
M - Th 9am-5pm & 7pm-10pm
F 9am-5pm
Sun 2pm-10pm
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip