This is the "Library Resources" page of the "Government" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government  

...
Last Updated: May 1, 2009 URL: http://conncoll.libguides.com/government Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Caravan (books)

  • Caravan: library catalog
    Search for books at Connecticut College or select CTW Libraries to request books from Trinity College and Wesleyan University.
 

Library Resources

Books & Media
Search the Library Catalog to find books, video's, government publications and journal titles. The catalog can be searched by author, title, keyword or subject and contains the holdings of Connecticut College as well as Trinity College and Wesleyan University. To search for books and media outside of the local catalog, use WorldCat.

At the Reference Desk

  Congressional Quarterly's International Information Directory
Encyclopedia of associations. International Organizations 
World of Learning

Reference Collection: LC Classification
 

AE
Encyclopedias and Encyclopedia Yearbooks (Half of Britannica Yearbook devoted to country-by-country surveys)   BritannicaOnline accessible through Library Home Page.
D
Facts on File, Keesings Record of World Events (Looseleaf monthly news updates; worldwide coverage; cumulative indexes.)
D-F
LC's classification for Area Studies: DA-U.K., DK-Slavic Studies, DS-Middle East and Asian Studies, DT-African Studies, F 1400-Latin American Studies.
G Encyclopedia of the Third World, Environmental Profiles, Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations.
HA
LC's classification for statistical compilations: UN Demographic Yearbook; UN Statistical Yearbook; International Historical Statistics; Statistical Abstract of the World.
HC World Development Report, Human Development Report, and other economic yearbooks.
JA
Statesman's Yearbook, International Political Science Abstracts (International, comprehensive coverage of the journal literature in political science). 
JC Human Rights material, including Amnesty International Reports.
JF
Political Handbook of the World (Country-by-country survey)

Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
JN
Europa World Year Book (country-by-country coverage: includes annual overview, statistics,and directory information)
JX Coverage of international government, including United Nations.
Z 2000-5000 LC's classification for bibliography; includes ABC-Clio's individual bibliographies for many countries throughout the world. This area will take you to many other sources.

U.S.Documents:
    Documents Reference/Online Resources

D Country Survey Series: excellent overviews of individual countries; chapters on history, economy, politics, and foreign relations of each country covered; extensive chapter bibliographies at end; note dates of publication for currency. 
PrEx  CIA World Fact Book
S State Department --Background Notes (looseleaf compilation of fairly current basic information) 

NOTE: Many government resources, including the above, are also available on the WWW.   See CC-Docs International Links.

Congressional Hearings
Y4's on lower level. Listed in online catalog, and indexed and abstracted in CIS Index in DOCS REF and on the  LexisNexis Congressional Home Page.


Statistical Information
Resources for obtaining statistical information may be found on the Finding Statistical Information page.

Ask a Librarian

Profile Image
Reference Desk Shain Library
Contact Info
Shain Library Reference Desk hours and contact information:
860-439-2655
Hours:
M - Th 9am-5pm & 7pm-10pm
F 9am-5pm
Sun 2pm-10pm
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip