This is the "Home" page of the "German Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

German Studies  

Last Updated: Jul 15, 2008 URL: http://conncoll.libguides.com/germanstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

French Resources in Shain Library

Books & Media
Search the Library Catalog to find books, video's, government publications and journal titles. The catalog can be searched by author, title, keyword or subject and contains the holdings of Connecticut College as well as Trinity College and Wesleyan University. To search for books and media outside of the local catalog, use WorldCat.

Books in the Library are arranged by Library of Congress (LC) subject headings.  Examples of LC subject headings that may be useful for locating books and videos relating to German studies follow:

DD1 - 901

History of Germany

JN3201 - 4944

Political institutions – Germany

PF3001 – 5999

German Language

PT1 - 4897

German Literature

Reference books can be a useful starting point for your research. Some examples of German Studies reference resources available in Shain Library follow.  Additional lists of reference books, government documents and websites can be found at Reference Resources on World Countries.

Brockhaus Enzyklopadie: in Vierundzwanzig Banden (1986)
AE27 B77 v.1-24 [Reference]

Modern Germany: An Encyclopedia of History, People, and Culture, 1871-1990 (1998)
DD14 M64 v.1-2 [Reference]

Reallexikon der Germanischen Altertumskunde  (1973-)
DD51 R42 v.1- 23 [Reference]

Biographisches Worterbuch zur Deutschen Geschichte (1973)
DD85 R572 v.1-3 [Reference]

Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture (1999)
DD290.26 E63 [Reference]

A Practical Dictionary of German Usage (1996)
PF3460 B35 [Reference]

Deutsches Worterbuch (1854)
PF3625 G7 v.1-16(incomplete) [Reference]

The Oxford-Duden German Dictionary: German-English, English-German (1997)
PF3640 O87 [Reference]

The BFI Companion to German Cinema (1999)
PN1993.5 G3 B45 [Reference]

Encyclopedia of German Literature (2000)
PT41 E53 v.1-2 [Reference]

Reallexidon der Deutschen Literatur Wissenscdhaft (1997)
PT41 R42 v.1-3 {Reference]

Women Writers in German-Speaking Countries: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook (1998)
PT167 W65 [Reference]

German Theatre: A Bibliography from the Beginning to 1995 (1996)
Z2234 D7 P34

Dahlmann-Waitz. Quellenkunde der Deutschen Geschichte, Bibliographie der Quellen und der Literatur zur Deutschen Geschichte
Z2236 D14 v.1-6, 10-11 [Reference]

    Ask a Librarian

    Profile Image
    Reference Desk Shain Library
    Contact Info
    Shain Library Reference Desk hours and contact information:
    860-439-2655
    Hours:
    M - Th 9am-5pm & 7pm-10pm
    F 9am-5pm
    Sun 2pm-10pm
    Send Email

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Laura Little
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip