This is the "Home" page of the "Film Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Film Studies  

Last Updated: Feb 14, 2013 URL: http://conncoll.libguides.com/film Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact

Fred Folmer is the Library Liaison to the Film Studies program. He may be reached at x2272, or by email at ffolmer@conncoll.edu. His office is on the second floor of Shain Library.

 

NYT movie news

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Film Studies Resources in Shain Library

Books & Media
Search the Library Catalog to find books, videos and DVDs, and journal titles. The catalog can be searched by author, title, keyword or subject and contains the holdings of Connecticut College as well as Trinity College and Wesleyan University. To search for books and media outside of the local catalog, use WorldCat.

To find movies on DVD and VHS, use the "Quick Limit" dropdown menu in Simple Search in Caravan, then search by title or personal name (use "Author" to search for directors' names and "Keyword Anywhere" to search for actors' names).

Reference Works

The following reference works can be found in the Shain Library reference section and can help you start researching literature-related topics. These are only a sampling of our reference collection; more sources can be found by browsing in the PN1993-1999 and TR845-899 call number ranges of the reference collection.

Title Author/editor Call number
Film and Television: A Guide to the Reference Literature Emmons, Mark Z5784.M9 E47 2006
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film Grant, Barry Keith PN1993.45 .G65 2007
Cinema Studies: The Key Concepts Hayward, Susan PN1993.45 H36 2006
The Language of Cinema Jackson, Kevin PN1993.45 J23 1998
The Film Encyclopedia Katz, Ephraim PN1993.45 K34 1994
The Complete Film Dictionary Konigsberg, Ira PN1993.45 .K66 1997
The International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers Lyon, Christopher PN1997.8 .I58 1984
The Encyclopedia of British Film McFarlane, Brian PN1993.5.G7 E53 2005
The Columbia Companion to American History on Film: How the Movies Have Portrayed the American Past Rollins, Peter PN1995.9.U64 C65 2003
Film Noir: A Comprehensive, Illustrated Reference to Movies, Terms, and Persons Stephens, Michael PN1995.9 F54 S74 1995
The New Biographical Dictionary of Film Thomson, David PN1998.2 .T49 2002

 

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Fred Folmer
    Contact Info
    860-439-2272
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip