Caravan (books)
- Caravan: library catalogSearch for books at Connecticut College or select CTW Libraries to request books from Trinity College and Wesleyan University.
Library Resources
Books
& Media
Search the Library
Catalog to find books, video's, government publications and
journal titles. The catalog can be searched by author, title, keyword
or subject and contains the holdings of Connecticut College as well
as Trinity College and Wesleyan University. To search for books
and media outside of the local catalog, use WorldCat.
History resources available in Shain Library include:
The major Library of Congress classification numbers for history books fall within the following ranges:
| CB | History of Civilization |
| D | General History |
| DA-DR | Europe |
| DS | Asia |
| DT | Africa |
| DU | Oceania |
| E | America. |
| F | United States local history. Latin America. |
| G | Geography (General) |
| HC-HD | Economic History |
| HN | Social History and Conditions |
In the Dewey collection, the 900’s cover history.
General Guides to Historical Research
From reliable sources : an introduction to historical methods D16 H713 2001
Writing history : a guide for students. D16 S864 1999
Major Encyclopedias and Other Reference Sources
Dictionary of the Middle Ages D114 D5 1982
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia DS4 E53 2002
Encyclopedia of Asian History DS31 E53 1988
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic DS35.53 O95 1995
Kodansha Encyclopedia of
Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara DT351 E53 1997
Handbook of North American Indians E77 H25
Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies E45 E53 1993
Dictionary of American History E174 D52 2003
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History E185 E54 1996
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War E468 E53 2000
Encyclopedia of the American West F591 E485 1996
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures F1218.6 O95 2001
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture F1406 E53 1996
Encyclopedia of the Confederacy E487 E55 1993
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust D840.3 E53 1989
Encyclopedia of the
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing D14 E53 1999
Chronology of World History (Prehistory-1998) D11 M39 1999
Columbia Gazetteer of the World G103.5 C65 1998
Oxford Atlas of World History G1030 O94 1999
Complete Atlas of World History G1030 C66 1997
Routledge Atlas of American History G1201 S1 G53 2003
Dent Atlas of American History G1201 S1 G53 1993
African-American Atlas : Black history and culture E185 A79 1998
History Atlas of South America G1701 S1 E4 1998
Atlas of Russian History G2111 S1 G52 1993
Ask a Librarian |
Contact Info Shain Library Reference Desk hours and contact information: 860-439-2655 Hours: M - Th 9am-5pm & 7pm-10pm F 9am-5pm Sun 2pm-10pm Send Email |


Loading...
