Hispanic Studies Resources in Shain Library
Books & Media Books in the Library are arranged by Library of Congress (LC) subject headings. Examples of LC subject headings that may be useful for locating books and videos relating to Hispanic studies follow:
DP1-402 History of E184. S75 Spanish Americans JN8101 - 8399 Political institutions – PC4001 - 4977 Spanish Language PQ6001 – 7011 Spanish Literature of the Iberian Peninsula PQ7081 – 8560 Spanish American Literature
This guide lists some of the most important and recent resources pertinent to Hispanic Studies at Shain Library and on the Internet. It is intended as a starting place for your research and not as a comprehensive guide. Information related to the study of individual countries can be found at Reference Resources on World Countries. Refer also, to the Latin American studies subject guide.
Search the Library Catalog to find books, video's, government publications and journal titles. The catalog can be searched by author, title, keyword or subject and contains the holdings of Connecticut College as well as Trinity College and Wesleyan University. To search for books and media outside of the local catalog, use WorldCat.
For a more detailed explanation of LC classification of literature, see Library of Congress Classification of Spanish Literature: a Brief Guide. Reference books can be a useful starting point for your research. Some examples of Hispanic Studies reference resources available in Shain Library follow.
Enciclopedia Hispánica (1994-1995)
AE61 E48 (v.1-18)
Historical Dictionary of Modern
DP192 H57 [Reference]
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture (1999)
DP233.5 E63 [Reference]
Spanish Culture and Society: The Essential Glossary (2002)
DP233.5 .S73 [Reference]
Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the
E184 S75 H365 (v.1-4)
Spanish Artists from the Fourth to the Twentieth Century: A Critical Dictionary (1993)
N7112 S67 [Reference]
501 Spanish-Verbs Conjugated in All the Tenses (1990)
PC4271 K38 [Reference]
The Hispanic-American Almanac: A Reference Work on Hispanic Americans in the United States (1993)
E184 S75 H557 [Reference]
The Oxford Spanish Dictionary: Spanish-English/English-Spanish (2003)
PC4640 O94 [Reference]
Dictionario de la lengua Española (1984)
PC4625 A3 v.1-3
McGraw-Hill Diccionario del Argot: el Sohez (2001)
PC4971 C383 [Reference]
Dictionary of Spanish and Portuguese Film-makers and Films (1994)
PN1993.5 S7 E83 [Reference]
Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian Peninsula (1993)
PQ6006 D54 v.1-2 [Reference]
The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature (2002)
PQ6005 F46 v.1-2 [Reference]
Spanish American Authors: the Twentieth Century (1992)
PQ7081.3 F57 [Reference]
A Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language: A Selected, Annotated Guide to Spanish, Spanish-American, and United States Hispanic Bibliography, Literature, Linguistics, Journals and other Materials (1995)
Z2695 A2 B55 [Reference]
Ask a Librarian |
Contact Info Shain Library Reference Desk hours and contact information: 860-439-2655 Hours: M - Th 9am-5pm & 7pm-10pm F 9am-5pm Sun 2pm-10pm Send Email |
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
