This is the "Home" page of the "Locating Journal Articles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Locating Journal Articles  

This guide is intended to help you search for and locate journal articles.
Last Updated: Mar 23, 2012 URL: http://conncoll.libguides.com/locatingjournals Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Books and Media at Shain Library

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Locating Articles

sfxmenu.jpgHow to Find Articles

How to Locate Journals

 

Your professor wants you to write a paper and include five journal articles.  What do you do?


Start with a Database:

Databases supply a list of articles that pertain to a certain topic or author.   You can find the full list of Databases by going to the Journals, Articles and Databases link on the library homepage.


home.jpg


 On the next page click on the first link for Databases.   Databases may be viewed alphabetically or grouped by topic.   If you’re not sure which database to choose, start by looking at the ones listed under the group closest to your topic (i.e. psychology, human development, primary sources)

 

Using SFX to Locate Full Text:

 

Almost all of the Databases use a tool called “SFX”.   Once you’ve completed a search, each of the records that are returned will have either an SFX button sfx.jpg  or a link that says “Find it @ Conn College”.   From the SFX menu, look for a link to the full text.   If no full text link is presented, use the ILL request feature to obtain the item from another library.

 

 

Journal Locator:

If you already have a citation for a specific journal use the Journal listing under the “Journal, Articles and Databases” tab to determine if it is available, either in print or electronically.

 

Ask a Reference Librarian if you need help at any step along the way.  Finding appropriate articles and obtaining them can be an exciting challenge.

 

Ask A Librarian

Profile Image
Reference Desk Shain Library
Untitled Document
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
860-439-2655
Hours:
M-W 9am-10pm
Th 9am-5pm & 7pm-10pm
F 9am-5pm
Sat 1pm-5pm
Sun 1pm-5pm & 7pm-10pm
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip