A database is an electronic retrieval tool and organization system for collections of catalog records, images, documents, or citations. Connecticut College Libraries subscribe to many databases, some of which point to print materials available in the library's physical collection or through Interlibrary Loan, while others provide full-text access online. If you come across an article that is not available online, your next step is to search OneSearch to see if Connecticut College subscribes to the journal in print. If so, you can access the physical copy in the library; if not, you can request a copy of the journal article through Interlibrary Loan.
Access to subscription databases is restricted to current CC faculty, students and staff. If you are accessing these resources from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your network username and password. For more information contact the reference desk at (860) 439-2655 or refdesk@conncoll.edu.
Newspapers offer exhibition reviews, art criticism, and other art news.
Open-access scholarly journals are becoming more prevalent. These are available online, free of charge. For more open-access journals in art history and architectural studies, search the Directory of Open Access Journals.
Open-access digital repositories provide access to collections of digitized books, journals, and archival materials.
The following arts journals are available in the library. The most recent issues are located in the current periodicals section on the main floor, while older issues are bound and shelved in the stacks.