Economics: Using the Library

Library materials are located on all floors of the library.

• Lower level: Dewey Decimal call numbers, bound periodicals, government documents, call numbers Q - Z and folios

• Main level: Current journals, new books and DVDs, popular DVDs, reference books

• Second level: Call numbers A through F

• Third level: Call numbers G through Z, oversize books

The library has many resources and services available. Here is a quick guide to what is on each floor.

• Computer Labs are available to students when not in use for a class or other event. View each lab's schedule on the monitor placed outside each room or on the website. 
  • Lower Level: PC Classroom, Advanced Technology Lab (ATL), Visualization Wall
  • Main Level: Davis Classroom
  • Second Level: Neff Lab
• Shain Library is home to many services to help you succeed at Conn. Here is a directory of the services available throughout the library.
  • Lower Level: IT Service Desk, Digital Scholarship & Curriculum Center (DSCC)
  • Main Level: Circulation Desk, Reference Desk, Interlibrary Loan Services, Research Consultations
  • Second Level: Academic Resource Center, Accessibility Services, Linda Lear Center for Special Collections and Archives

Printers are located throughout Shain Library. Each printer also has options for scanning and copying. See this page for more detailed information. 

There are many ways to get help with your research.

• Visit or call the reference desk (Main floor, 860-439-2655)
• Schedule an appointment with a reference librarian
• Email us
• Text us (860-787-5001)

If you have an immediate question, ask it here:

Shain Lbrary provides a Course Reserves service. Print and video material on course reserves is kept at the Circulation desk during the academic year and should be requested there. For policies and guidelines regarding this service refer to Course Reserves & Policies.

The Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) borrows or obtains copies of library materials unavailable in our own collection. ILL requests can be made for books, articles or book chapters, dvds, cds, videos, microfilm, etc. Place requests from within library databases or through your account. Requests for books owned by Trinity College or Wesleyan University may be placed directly through OneSearch.

Access to databases is restricted to current CC faculty, students, and staff. If you are accessing these resources from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your network user name and password.

Alternatively, affiliated users can setup the VPN, which treats off-campus computers as if they are on-campus: http://camelvpn.conncoll.edu/ 

For more information, or if you have trouble, ask a librarian.

CC Libraries, the mobile app for the Connecticut College Libraries, provides easy access to research resources wherever you are.

If you are a CC student, faculty or staff member you can now access many of the library’s resources from your mobile device.  

Click here to Download the app.